Skip to main content Skip to footer

Eligibility and Instructions


Undergraduate Student Research Awards (USRA) are meant to stimulate your interest in research in the natural sciences and engineering (please see FASS eligible faculty and their corresponding fields below). The awards are also meant to encourage you to undertake graduate studies and pursue a research career in these fields.

For detailed information and further instructions, please visit: the Carleton University Research Office (CURO)/USRA) page and the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada (NSERC)/USRA) page.

USRAs:
Duration: A full 16-week period, full-time
Value: $4,500 from NSERC, plus a minimum of $1,800 from the supervisor

Travel Allowances: a travel allowance may also be granted if you take up the award at a university other than the one at which you are currently registered. More information regarding Travel Allowances.

 

Summer 2017

Information for FASS Faculty and Applicants:

Application Due date: 20 February, 2017

Number of Awards Available in FASS: 8

Submission: Submit complete applications, as a PDF, by e-mail to Sarah.Mohammed@carleton.ca.

OD FASS contact: Sarah Mohammed, 330 Paterson Hall, 613-520-2600 ext. 7590, Sarah.Mohammed@carleton.ca


FASS – Eligible Faculty NSERC-USRA program 2017

Name: Dr. Christopher Burn
Department: Geography and Environmental Studies
Contact Info: Christopher.Burn@carleton.ca

Name: Dr. John Chételat
Department: Geography and Environmental Studies
Contact Info: John.Chetelat@carleton.ca

Name: Dr. Stephan Gruber
Department: Geography and Environmental Studies
Contact Info: Stephan.Gruber@carleton.ca

Name:  Prof. Chris Herdman
Department:  Psychology
Contact Information:  Chris.Herdman@carleton.ca

Name: Dr. Elyn Humphreys
Department: Geography and Environmental Studies
Contact Info: Elyn.Humphreys@carleton.ca

Name: Dr. Deepthi Kamawar
Department: Psychology
Contact Info: Deepthi.Kamawar@carleton.ca

Name: Dr. Doug J. King
Department: Geography and Environmental Studies
Contact Info: Doug.King@carleton.ca

Name: Dr. Joanne Lefevre
Department: Psychology
Contact Info: Jo-anne.lefevre@carleton.ca

Name: Dr. Derek Mueller
Department: Geography and Environmental Studies
Contact Info: Derek.Mueller@carleton.ca

Name: Dr. Kasia Muldner
Department: Institute of Cognitive Science
Contact Info: Kasia.Muldner@carleton.ca

Name: Dr. Ruth Phillips
Department: School for Studies in Art and Culture (SSAC)
Contact Info: Ruth.Phillips@carleton.ca

Name: Dr. Murray Richardson
Department: Geography and Environmental Studies
Contact Info: Murray.Richardson@carleton.ca

Name: Dr. Jesse Vermaire
Department: Geography and Environmental Studies
Contact Info: Jesse.Vermaire@carleton.ca

Name: Dr. Robert West
Department: Psychology
Contact Info: Robert.West@carleton.ca