IPE@20

Celebrating 20 Years of Engaged Research at the Institute of Political Economy

Friday, May 24th, 9:00 a.m. – 6:30 p.m. Rooms 270/272 Residence Commons, Carleton University

9:00-9:30 Breakfast Snacks and Registration

9:30-9:45 Welcome

Dean André Plourde, Faculty of Public Affairs and Professor Rianne Mahon (Director, 2001-10)

9:45-11:15 IPE Faculty Panel

Andrew Biro (Visiting Professor, 2011), Canada Research Chair in Political Ecology and Environmental Political Theory, Acadia University

Neil Bradford (Visiting Professor, 2012), Professor, Political Science, Huron University College Cristina Rojas (Professor, PECO 6000, 2009 & 2013), Political Science, Carleton University Justin Paulson (Professor, PECO 5000, 2010-13) Sociology & Anthropology, Carleton University

11:30-12:30 Current Political Economy Students' Presentations

12:30-1:30 Lunch

1:30-1:45 Congratulatory Messages

IPE founding Directors, Professors Mike Dolan and Wallace Clement

1:45- 2:00 Presentation of Student Anniversary Awards

Professor Janet Siltanen (Director 2010-2012)

2:00-3:15 Guest Faculty Panel

Stephen McBride, Canada Research Chair in Public Policy and Globalization, McMaster University Marjorie Griffin Cohen, Depts. of Political Science and Women's Studies, Simon Fraser University Charlotte Yates, Dean, Faculty of Social Sciences, McMaster University

3:30-4:45 IPE Alumni Panel

Kevin Skerrett, Senior Research Officer, CUPE, Class of '94 Stephanie Ross, Assoc. Professor, Dept. of Social Science, York University, Class of '95 Fuyuki Kurasawa, Assoc. Professor, Dept. of Sociology, York University, Class of '95 Carlos Novas, Assoc. Professor, Dept. of Sociology &Anthropology, Carleton University, Class of '98 Anna Torgerson, Program Officer, SSHRC, Class of 2007 Sarah Martin, PhD. Candidate, Balsillie School of International Affairs, Waterloo, Class of 2010

4:45-5:00 Closing Remarks from Professor Laura Macdonald (Director, 2013 -)

5:00 – 6:30 Wine and Cheese Reception