The Biology Department offers several awards to undergraduate students.

  • Dr. Harry Katznelson Memorial Scholarship
    Awarded annually to an outstanding student proceeding into an advanced year in the Honours Biology program.
    Friends of the late Dr. Harry Katznelson, B.S.A., M.Sc., Ph.D., F.R.S.C., Director of the Microbiology Research Institute, Federal Department of Agriculture. Established 1965.
  • Betty Nesbitt Memorial Award in Biology
    Awarded annually to a student entering the Third year of a Bachelor’s Degree program in Biology, who, in the opinion of the Department has shown exceptional promise in the field of biology. Preference will be given to a student in a faculty other than the Faculty of Science.
    Friends of the late Mrs. H.H.J. Nesbitt. Endowed 1976.
  • H.H.J. Nesbitt Scholarship in Biology
    Awarded annually to an outstanding student proceeding into their penultimate year of the Honours Program in Biology. This award was established in 2002 by family, friends and colleagues to honour the memory of Herbert Nesbitt and the contribution he made to Carleton University and the field of Biology and his area of specialty Entomology. A widely respected researcher in the field of entomology, Dr. Nesbitt was author of approximately 80 research papers on mites and a member of the international editorial board of Acarologia, a scientific journal on ticks and mites. He was a former president of the Zoological Society of Canada, a Fellow of the Linnean Society of London; the Royal Entomological Society; the Zoological Society of London, the Entomological Society of Canada and the Entomological Society of America. He also was a former chairman of the Board of Governors of Algonquin College.