Instructors can control access to their D2L Brightspace courses by making the course active (available to students) or inactive (unavailable to students). Brightspace courses are inactive by default when they are first created so instructors can build and customize course content prior to students entering the online space. Courses will not be visible to students or TAs until they are activated on the Course Offering Information Page in the Course Admin panel. Courses can be made active/inactive at any time; however, courses should be made active on the first day of class to avoid confusion.

NOTE: If instructors want to make their course active before the official start date of class, they need to activate the course AND  change the start date in order for students to access the course and receive announcement notifications. When announcements are posted, emails will not be sent to students until the start date has passed.

Make your course active (available to students)

  1. Log in to Brightspace with your MyCarleton1 credentials.
  2. On the Brightspace homepage, locate your course in one of the following ways:
      • Click on the course tile under the My Courses widget.
      • Click the Course Selector Grid  and select the course from the drop-down menu. If you are enrolled in more than 20 courses, you can search for the course name using the search bar.
  3. In the navbar, click Course Admin.
  4. Under Site Setup, click Course Offering Information.
  5. Scroll down to the Active heading and select the Course is active checkbox.                                             Course is active checkbox
  6. Click Save. Your Brightspace course will now be visible and accessible to students.

Make your course inactive (unavailable to students)

  1. Log in to Brightspace with your MyCarleton1 credentials.
  2. On the Brightspace homepage, locate your course in one of the following ways:
      • Click on the course tile under the My Courses widget.
      • Click the Course Selector Grid  and select the course from the drop-down menu. If you are enrolled in more than 20 courses, you can search for the course name using the search bar.
  3. In the navbar, click Course Admin.
  4. Under Site Setup, click Course Offering Information.
  5. Scroll down to the Active heading and deselect the Course is active checkbox.
  6. Click Save. Your Brightspace course will now be unavailable to students.

Related Support Topics:

Was this page helpful?

36 people found this useful

Still need help? Contact us