Photo of Jagmohan L. Humar

Jagmohan L. Humar

Distinguished Research Professor

Degrees:B.Sc. (Banaras Hindu U.), M.Tech. (IIT), Ph.D. (Carleton), F.C.A.E., F.C.S.C.E., F.E.I.C., C.M.
Phone:613-520-2600 x 5787
Office:7064 (Minto)

Dr. Humar’s mailbox is located in room 3432 C.J. Mackenzie Building, Carleton University, 1125 Colonel By Drive, Ottawa, ON K1S 5B6 Canada

Teaching Assignment 2021-2022

  • CIVE 5106 Dynamics of Structures

Previous Teaching Assignments

  • ECOR1101 Mechanics I
  • CIVE3204 Introduction to Structural Design
  • CIVE3205 Design of Structural Steel Components
  • CIVE5106 Dynamics of Structures

Research Interests

Professor Jag Humar, who is a former Chancellor’s Professor at Carleton, served as the Chair of the Department for ten years from 1990 to 2000. After his retirement in 2003, the University appointed him Professor Emeritus and Distinguished Research Professor in recognition of his continued research activity and graduate supervision. He is internationally recognized for his research in the areas of structural dynamics and earthquake engineering. His book Dynamics of Structures was re-published in 2002. He has also authored over 120 journal and conference papers and is a former Associate Editor for the Canadian Journal of Civil Engineering and the International Journal of Earthquake Engineering and Structural Dynamics. He has been a special consultant for several outstanding civil engineering projects including the National Aviation Museum in Ottawa and the SkyDome in Toronto.

His current research is in dynamics of structures; response of structures to seismic ground motion; analysis of soil-structure interaction and dam-reservoir-foundation interaction under dynamic loading; dynamic response of bridges; computer-aided design and computer aided learning in civil engineering.


Development of National Code for earthquake resistant design.

Honours and Awards

On June 3, 2005, Dr. Jagmohan (Jag) Humar, Distinguished Research Professor, was inducted as Fellow of the Canadian Academy of Engineering (CAE) at the CAE’s annual meeting in Calgary. CAE is an independent organization that serves the nation in matters of engineering concerns. The 310 Fellows of the Academy are professional engineers from all disciplines and are elected on the basis of their distinguished service and contribution to society, to the country, and to the profession. He has received several awards for his contributions, including Carleton’s awards for teaching excellence, research achievement, the Davidson Dunton Lectureship and the John Adjeleian Lecturership and the Canadian Civil Engineering Society’s Gzowski Medal, Whitman Wright Award, and the A.B. Sanderson Award. In 2015 he received Carleton University’s A. D. Dunton Alumni Award of Distinction for his lifetime achievements. He is a Fellow of the Canadian Society of Civil Engineering and of the Engineering Institute of Canada.

In 2020 Dr. Humar was appointed a Member of the Order of Canada, country’s highest civilian award, for his outstanding achievements and service to the nation.

  • 2003 Distinguished Research Professorship, Carleton University
  • 2003 A.B. Sanderson Award, Canadian Society for Civil Engineering for outstanding contribution to structural engineering in Canada
  • 2002 Chancellor’s Professorship, Carleton University
  • 2001 Whitman Wright Award, Canadian Society of Civil Engineering, for contributions to the development of computer applications in civil engineering
  • 2001 Honourable mention, Gzowski medal, Canadian Society for Civil Engineering
  • 2000 – 2001 Research Achievement Award, Carleton University
  • 1999 Honourable mention, Gzowski medal, Canadian Society for Civil Engineering
  • 1998 Davidson Dunton Lecturer, Carleton University
  • 1993 Fellowship, Engineering Institute of Canada
  • 1992 – 1993 Teaching Achievement Award, Carleton University
  • 1989 Gzowski Medal, Canadian Society for Civil Engineering for the best paper in the area of surveying, structural engineering and heavy construction.
  • 1987 Fellowship, Canadian Society for Civil Engineering
  • 1973 – 1974 Carleton Fellowship
  • 1972 – 1973 John Epstein Scholarship
  • 1971 – 1974 Canadian Commonwealth Scholarship