Past Event! Note: this event has already taken place.

The European Union, Canada, and the Arctic: International Policy on the Arctic

September 22, 2011 — September 23, 2011

Location:Carleton University
Day 1: Fenn Lounge, 2nd floor, Residence Commons, Carleton University
Day 2: Senate Room (#608), 6th floor, Robertson Hall, Carleton University

To view selected presentations from the conference please click here

The Carleton University Centre for European Studies (European Union Centre of Excellence), in cooperation with the Friedrich Ebert Foundation, will host a conference considering transatlantic relations in, and comparative policy towards, the Arctic, with particular attention to the role of Canada, the EU, and the EU’s member states, as well as the interaction of these actors with other Arctic countries or players.

Conference Programme




  • Pami Aalto (University of Tampere)
  • Frances Abele (Carleton University) and John Crump (Senior Advisor, Polar Unit, UNEP/GRID-Arendal, Ottawa)
  • Sandra Cavalieri (Ecologic, Berlin) Podcast
  • Armand deMestral (McGill University) Podcast
  • Erica Dingman (World Policy Institute, New York)
  • Petra Dolata-Kreutzkamp (King’s College, London)
  • Leonid Grigoriev (Higher School of Economics, Moscow)
  • Rob Huebert (University of Calgary) Podcast
  • Markus Kaim (German Institute for International Affairs, Berlin) Podcast
  • Cécile Pelaudeix, (Institute of Political Studies in Grenoble, France) Podcast
  • H.E. Matthias Brickmann, (EU Ambassador to Canada)
  • H.E. Zenon Kosiniak-Kamysz (Polish Ambassador to Canada)
  • H.E. Georg Witschel (Ambassador of the Federal Republic of Germany to Canada)
  • David Long (Carleton University) Podcast
  • Donald McRae (University of Ottawa)
  • Heather Nicol (Trent University)
  • Kristin Offerdal (Norwegian Institute for Defense Studies)
  • Joel Plouffe (Université du Québec à Montréal)
  • Jaime Reynolds (European Commission, DG Environment)
  • Mary Simon (OC, QC, President of Inuit Tapiriit Kanatami)
  • Oran Young (UC Santa Barbara)


The Centre for European Studies is grateful to the European Commission, Carleton University, the Friedrich Ebert Foundation, and the Embassies of the Republic of Poland and the Federal Republic of Germany in Canada, for support.