Jeffrey Sachs, B.A, M.A., Ph.D.

Economist Jeffrey Sachs is renowned for his efforts to heighten awareness about environmental sustainability and engage citizens in the battle against global hunger and poverty. Through his work as director of Columbia University’s Earth Institute, professor at Columbia University’s Department of International and Public Affairs and School of Public Health and founder of the Millennium Promise, Professor Sachs has been able to mobilize communities worldwide to take action.

In particular, his Millennium Promise’s Millennium Villages Project, which provides villages in Africa with the tools they need to overcome poverty, has sparked university students globally – including at Carleton – to take up the cause.

He is also Special Advisor to United Nations Secretary General Ban Ki-Moon and the author of several books, including The End of Poverty. Professor Sachs has twice been named one of Time Magazine’s 100 Most Influential People in the World.

Donald Colborne McEown, C.D., B.A., (Dip.) B. Admin.

Distinguished Carleton employee Donald McEown was awarded the degree of Master of Arts, honoris causa, at the 2 p.m. ceremony on Saturday, November 13, “in recognition of his long-standing and devoted service to Carleton University.”

Mr. McEown came to Carleton in 1963 to work as the administrative assistant to the Bursar. Over the next 35 years, he worked for six presidents, served six chancellors and 15 chairs of the Board of Governors and held numerous other positions. When he retired in1998, he was named Secretary Emeritus of the Board of Governors. In 2004, the university bestowed on Mr. McEown the Founders Award, Carleton’s highest non-academic honour, for his significant contribution to the advancement of the university. He is the co-author, with history Professor Emeritus Blair Neatby, of Creating Carleton: The Shaping of a University, published in 2002. He was awarded the Queen’s Golden Jubilee medal in 2003. Mr. McEown served in the Royal Canadian Artillery achieving the rank of Major. He received the Canadian Forces Decoration in 1976.