1. To back up course content
  2. To download a copy of the backup file
  3. To restore a course backup

Computing and Communication Services (CCS) makes frequent backups to all cuLearn courses.  If you experience any outages or losses of information, CCS can be contacted for an archived backup.  However, if you would like to create a backup for extra assurance, you can backup your course file in cuLearn and then restore it at a later date.

To back up course content

  1. Log in to cuLearn using your MyCarletonOne credentials.
  2. Click on your course link.
  3. Click on the Settings Gear on the right side of the course page.
  4. In the drop-down menu, select Backup.                                                                                                               
  5. Under Backup settings, click the checkboxes to select or de-select the course content you want to backup.       
  6. Click Next.
  7. Select the resources and activities you want to include in your backup from each topic section in your course.
    NOTE: If you want to backup user data for your course, select the User data checkbox next to a topic section or resource/activity.

  8. Click Next.
  9. Under Filename, enter a file name for your backup, or keep the name automatically generated for your file.
  10. Under Backup Settings and Included items, review the settings for your backup and the list of course content to be included in your file.
  11. Once you have finished reviewing your Backup settings, click Perform Backup. When your file has finished loading, you will see the message “The backup file was successfully created”.
  12. To view or manage your backup files, click continue.
  13. The backup file will be stored on the system, but it is also a good idea to keep a copy for your records. To download the backup file click the Download link next to the backup that was created.

To download a copy of the backup file

  1. Go into your cuLearn course.
  2. Click on the Settings Gear on the right side of your main course page.
  3. In the drop-down menu, select Restore.                                                                                                             
  4. Locate the backup file in the User private backup area section of the page.
  5. Click the Download link to the right of the backup file you want to download.

To restore a course backup

  1. Click on the Settings Gear on the right side of your main course page.
  2. In the drop-down menu, select Restore.                                                                                                             
  3. Locate the backup file in the Course backup area or User private backup area.  If you want to import a backup file, select Choose a file… or drag and drop your file into the designated area.
  4. Click Restore next to your desired file.
  5. Review your backup details, then click Next.
  6. You have two options for restoring your course: Restore into this course or Restore into an existing course.
    • For the Restore into this course option, select whether you want to merge the backup course into this course or delete the contents of this course and then restore.
    • For the Restore into an existing course option, select an existing course from your course list, or search for a course using the search field. Next, select whether you want to merge the backup course into this course or delete the contents of this course and then restore.
  7. Click Continue.
  8. Review your Restore settings, Click the checkboxes to select or de-select the content you want to include in the backup, then click Next.                   
  9. Review the following Course settings:
    • Select whether or not you want to overwrite your existing course name, short name and course start date.
    • Select or de-select the topic sections and activities/resources that you want to be restored into your course.
  10. Click Next.
  11. Review your Course settings and Restore Settings, then click Perform Restore.
  12. When your course file has finished loading, you will see the message “The course was restored successfully, clicking the continue button below will take you to view the course you restored”.

Was this page helpful?

2 people found this useful