1. Viewing a Single Grade Item
  2. Viewing a Single User
  3. Excluding Grade Items
  4. Overriding Grades
  5. Removing a Grade Override

Single View allows you to view a single grade item or single user (student) in the gradebook. The Single View tab is accessed within the gradebook, under the View tab.

When viewing a grade item or user, you have the option to:

Viewing a Single Grade Item

When you choose a particular Grade item to view from the Select grade item… drop-down menu, cuLearn displays all students’ grades and feedback for that item (see the screen image below for a visual). In this view, instructors can override individual user grades and feedback by checking all or some of the boxes in the Override All/None column. All changes to grade and comment fields should be saved by clicking the Save button.

NOTE: if you override a grade for an online assignment in the Single view, it will not be reflected within the Assignment tool in cuLearn. It is best to make changes to an online assignment grade inside the Assignment tool, not in the Single view of the gradebook. Making changes to the Assignment via the Single view screen will mean that any grading done in the Assignment tool, such as uploaded feedback files, will not be visible to students.

Viewing a Single User

When you select a particular user to view from the Select User… drop-down menu, cuLearn will display all the grade items for that user/student (see the screen image below for a visual).  In the Single user view, instructors can override grades or feedback for any of that user’s assessments by selecting boxes in the Override All/None column. All changes to grade and comment fields should be saved by clicking the Save button.

Excluding Grade Items

Sometimes instructors may need to exclude a grade item from the course total calculation. Excluding a grade item exempts a student from a particular assessment without penalty. Grades may also be excluded for practice assessments that are not part of the course total calculation.

To Exclude a Grade Item:

  1. Log in to cuLearn using your MyCarletonOne credentials.
  2. Click on your course link.
  3. Click on the Grades in the navigation menu on the left side of your course page.
  4. Click on the Single View tab.
  5. Select a grade item from the Select grade item… drop-down menu OR select a user from the Select User… drop-down menu.
  6. Click the checkbox under the Exclude column for the selected grade item or user.
  7. Click Save. The grade item will no longer contribute to grade calculations.

Overriding Grades

Once you have selected a grade item or user on the Single View page, you have the option to edit/override the existing grade(s).

To override a grade in Single View:

  1. Log in to cuLearn using your MyCarletonOne credentials.
  2. Click on your course link.
  3. Click on the Grades in the navigation menu on the left side of your course page.
  4. Under the View tab, Click on the Single View tab.
  5. Select a grade item from the Select grade item… drop-down menu OR select a user from the Select User… drop-down menu.
  6. Click the checkbox under the Override column for the for the selected grade item or user.
    TIP: If you want to override all of the grades for a particular grade item, you can click All under the override column make all of the grades editable.
  7. In the Grade and Feedback fields, edit the grade and feedback
  8. Click Save. A confirmation screen will appear. Click Continue to return to the Single View page.

Removing a Grade Override

You can easily remove a grade override in the Single View tab. Once a grade override has been removed, the grade will automatically recalculate to reflect the original score.

To remove a grade override in Single View:

  1. Log in to cuLearn using your MyCarletonOne credentials.
  2. Click on your course link.
  3. Click on the Grades in the navigation menu on the left side of your course page.
  4. Under the View tab, click on the Single View tab.
  5. Select a grade item from the Select grade item… drop-down menu OR select a user from the Select User… drop-down menu.
  6. Uncheck the checkbox under the Override column for the for the selected grade item or user. The grade and feedback fields appear greyed out once the checkbox has been unselected (see image below).
  7. Click Save. A confirmation screen will appear. Click Continue to return to the Single View page.

The original calculated grade will now appear in the grade field.

Was this page helpful?

4 people found this useful