The Department of Economics “brown bag” seminar series is a forum for the informal presentation of both research in progress by faculty, visiting scholars, and Ph.D. students and the research ideas of others by faculty and Ph.D. students for discussion purposes.

Overall Coordinator: Professor Ana C. Dammert
Co-Coordinator: Professor Minjoon Lee

Date, Time, and Location Presenter Topic
Thursday, 23 August 2018
12:00 to 1:00 p.m.
D-880 Loeb
Mohsen Javdani
of the University of British Columbia (Okanagan)
Who said or what said? Estimating ideological bias in views among economists
Thursday, 27 September 2018
12:00 to 1:00 p.m.
D-880 Loeb
Jahangir Alam
Post-Doctoral Fellow of HEC Montréal (visiting Stats Canada)
Misallocation and trade policy
Thursday, 11 October 2018
12:00 to 1:00 p.m.
D-880 Loeb
Youjin Choi
Ph.D. Candidate, University of Western Ontario
Why don’t married men take parental leave?
Thursday, 1 November 2018
12:00 to 1:00 p.m.
D-880 Loeb
Dana Galizia
of Carleton University
Macro fluctuations as emergent behavior
Thursday, 15 November 2018
12:00 to 1:00 p.m.
D-880 Loeb
Kerem Tuzcuoglu
of Bank of Canada
Composite likelihood estimation of AR panel probit: An application to credit ratings
Thursday, 22 November 2018
12:00 to 1:00 p.m.

Wednesday, 5 December 2018
3:00 to 4:00 p.m.
D-880 Loeb
Matt Webb
of Carleton University
Testing for the level of clustering
Thursday, 7 February 2019
12:00 to 1:00 p.m.
D-880 Loeb
Joshua Brault
Ph.D. candidate, Carleton University
Is there evidence for business cycle asymmetry in U.S. consumption?
Thursday, 14 February 2019
12:00 to 1:00 p.m.
D-880 Loeb
Simon Power,
Eileen Harris &
Elspeth McCulloch
of Carleton University
Technology in the classroom: Good or bad?
Monday, 11 March 2019
Anand Acharya
of Carleton University
Specialized health utilization, child health ability, and personalized-precision medicine
Thursday, 14 March 2019
12:00 to 1:00 p.m.
D-880 Loeb
Stan Winer
of Carleton University
Franchise extension and redistribution: evidence from the United Kingdom 1820-1913
Monday, 18 March 2019
2:30 to 4:00 p.m.
D-880 Loeb
David Leung
Ph.D. candidate, McGill University
The Optimal Progressivity of Income Taxes for Couples
Thursday, 28 March 2019
12:00 to 1:00 p.m.
D-880 Loeb
Anand Acharya
of Carleton University
Specialized health utilization, child health ability, and personalized-precision medicine
Thursday, 4 April 2019
Maya Papineau
of Carleton University
Visualizing energy efficiency information: a randomized controlled intervention
Wednesday, 8 May 2019
12:00 to 1:00 p.m.
D-880 Loeb
Akio Yamazaki
of University of Calgary
Environmental Taxes and Productivity: Lessons from Canadian Manufacturing