The Department of Economics “brown bag” seminar series is a forum for the informal presentation of both research in progress by faculty, visiting scholars, and Ph.D. students and the research ideas of others by faculty and Ph.D. students for discussion purposes.

Overall Coordinator: Professor Ana C. Dammert
Macro Finance: Professor Hashmat Khan

Date, Time, and Location Presenter Topic
Monday, 26 September 2016
1:00 to 2:00 p.m.
C-869 Loeb
David Ong
of Peking University
College admissions and the labor market beauty premium
Thursday, 6 October 2016
12:00 to 1:00 p.m.
C-869 Loeb
Matt Webb
of Carleton University
The subcluster wild bootstrap for few (treated) clusters
Thursday, 20 October 2016
12:00 to 1:00 p.m.
C-869 Loeb
Till Gross
of Carleton University
Dynamic residence-based taxation and tax competition
Thursday, 17 10 November 2016
12:00 to 1:00 p.m.
C-869 Loeb
Minjoon Lee
of Carleton University
Americans would work longer if jobs were flexible
Thursday, 17 November 2016
12:00 to 1:00 p.m.
C-869 Loeb
Brennan Thompson
of Ryerson University
Robust lifetime poverty comparisons
Thursday, 24 November 2016
12:00 to 1:00 p.m.
C-869 Loeb
Eric Stephens
of Carleton University
Securitization and aggregate investment efficiency
Friday, 20 January 2017
2:30 to 3:30 p.m.
D-880 Loeb
Konstantinos Metaxoglou
of Carleton University
Working with data: two empiricists’ experience
Thursday, 26
Friday, 27 January 2017
2:30 to 3:30 p.m.
D-880 Loeb
Simon Power
of Carleton University
Tips for successful teaching
Thursday, 2 February 2017
12:00 to 1:00 p.m.
D-880 Loeb
David Johnson
of University of Central Missouri
Why do I even bother? The nonlinear impact of debt on wage selectivity
Thursday, 9 February 2017
12:00 to 1:00 p.m.
D-880 Loeb
Jason Allen
of Bank of Canada
Pay structure, job termination and capital structure
Thursday, 9 March 2017
12:00 to 1:00 p.m.
D-880 Loeb
Maya Papineau
of Carleton University
TBA
Thursday, 16 March 2017
12:00 to 1:00 p.m.
D-880 Loeb
Steven Lehrer
of Queen’s University
Assessing the big data hype: Does econometrics have a real future in analytics?
Thursday, 23 March 2017
12:00 to 1:00 p.m.
D-880 Loeb
Sohini Paul
Visiting Scholar
Income inequality and individual health status: evidence from India
Thursday, 30 March 2017
12:00 to 1:00 p.m.
D-880 Loeb
Radovan Vadovič
of Carleton University
Correlated beliefs: Experimental evidence from 2×2 games
Thursday, 6 April 2017
12:00 to 1:00 p.m.
D-880 Loeb
Jason Allen
of Bank of Canada
Pay structure, job termination and capital structure
Thursday, 13 April 2017
12:00 to 1:00 p.m.
D-880 Loeb
Segun Bewaji
Payments Canada
A dynamic agent-based computational economics (ACE) model of RMBS issuance, credit risk transfer and financial stability