The Office of the Provost and Vice-President (Academic) and Teaching and Learning Services (TLS) are pleased to announce the 2019 Discovery Centre Fellowship and Scholarship of Teaching and Learning (SoTL) Grant recipients.

Discovery Centre Fellowship

This fellowship recognizes a significant contribution to reflective and research-informed teaching. It provides an opportunity for Carleton faculty members to further develop or innovate their teaching and make an impact to the broader academic community. The inaugural recipients of this fellowship are:

  • Melanie Adrian, from the Department of Law and Legal Studies, will develop an experiential learning conference that will help students build advocacy skills that will transfer to their future classroom and career settings. The conference will bring together students, the Scholars at Risk Carleton community, alumni, faculty and staff.
  • Mira Sucharov, from the Department of Political Science, will develop student simulations in light of debates over empathy, oppression and perspective-taking. The two extended course simulations will involve direct analysis of the dynamics of power, privilege and oppression.

SoTL Grant

This grant provides funding for Carleton’s instructors to engage in scholarly investigations of all aspects of teaching and learning. This year’s recipients are:

  • Mustafa Bahran (lead investigator) and Alain Bellerive, from the Department of Physics, received $5,000 for their project A measurement and assessment of the effectiveness of the lab component of the introductory physics courses.
  • Samuel McCready, from the Department of History, was awarded $4,500 for his project Re-thinking history teaching: Historical making and learning in digital culture.
  • Sophie Tamas, cross-appointed in the Department of Geography and Environmental Studies and the School of Indigenous and Canadian Studies, received $4,800 for her project Imposter syndrome: The impact of academic (In)security.
  • Kim Hellemans (lead investigator), Kim Matheson, Hymie Anisman, from the Department of Neuroscience, Robyn McQuaid, from the Institute for Mental Health Research at the Royal Ottawa Hospital, and Larry McCloskey, from the Paul Menton Centre for Students with Disabilities, were awarded $4,750 for a collaborative project titled Investigating student mental health and resilience: Relationship to current stressors and biomarkers of immune function and stress reactivity.
  • Paulo Garcia, from the Department of Systems and Computer Engineering, received $4,000 for his project Effectiveness of layered learning tools in engineering education.

Three instructors also received funding for teaching development projects in their courses:

  • Deanna C. Whelan, from the Department of Psychology, was awarded $2,500.
  • Shermeen Nizami, from the Department of Health Sciences, received $2,500.

Please join us in congratulating this year’s recipients!

Learn more about the available internal teaching and learning grants and other teaching development opportunities at Carleton.