Through the generous donations of donors, Carleton has created hundreds of awards that help students offset the costs of their education.

Scholarships are awarded for academic merit, to reward our most talented and high-achieving students in any year of their studies. Students are automatically considered for scholarships for which they qualify without requiring an application.

Carleton bursaries aid those students in most need of financial help, and are awarded based on a means test that assesses the amount of funding a student needs to attend university. Apply for bursaries online through Carleton Central.

Click here for the SEED Fund

Click here for the Capstone Fund

For more information, visit

Engineering awards requiring an application

Adrian D.C. Chan Award for Volunteer and Community Service, $500

Awarded annually, when merited, to a full-time undergraduate or graduate student (or a recent graduate) enrolled in a Carleton engineering program. The award recognizes voluntary involvement and community engagement outside the classroom, at Carleton University and in the community at large. Applications for 2016 are open until March 7, 2016.

Meet the 2013 recipient | Meet the 2012 recipient

David Muir Entrance Scholarship in Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering

An entrance scholarship for a student entering the first year of an undergraduate program in the Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering. Visit the university Awards and Financial Aid site for details.

NSERC Undergraduate Student Research Awards

Undergraduate Student Research Awards (USRA) are meant to stimulate your interest in research in the engineering and encourage you to undertake graduate studies and pursue a research career.  The awards help you to gain research work experience that complements your studies in an academic setting. 2018 Information

Teron Scholars

Established in 2007 by a donation from the Teron Foundation, the annual awards challenge students in the Azrieli School of Architecture and Urbanism to hone the skills needed to become multidisciplinary lead architects.

Students in any year of study can tailor a studio project identified by a professor as a Teron contender, and submit it for critical review by distinguished members of the Ottawa architecture community. The winners, judged on five critical disciplines (physical, social, environmental and economic dimensions and imagineering), display a holistic approach to architecture.

See the 2012 winners.

W.E. Cowie Innovation Award

The $10,000 award is given annually to an engineering student or team of students in the last year of a Bachelor of Engineering degree. It recognizes creative people and encourages their talents to flourish for humanity’s benefit. All recipients demonstrate a strong level of interdisciplinarity.

Applications are due annually on April 15 and must be submitted through the Chair of your department.  Applications must include:

  • a summary of your innovative work on a given project or across multiple projects, including the role of innovation in your future plans
  • letter(s) of support from faculty member(s)