Fellows of the Royal Society of Canada (FRSC)

Royal Society of Canada: The Academies of Arts, Humanities and Sciences of Canada is a senior national body of distinguished Canadian scientists and scholars. Its primary objective is to promote learning and research in the arts and sciences. The Society consists of approximately 1,800 Fellows: men and women from across the country selected by their peers for outstanding contributions to the natural and social sciences and in the humanities.

Several FASS faculty members have been elected to this distinguished body:

Royal Society of Canada - College of New Scholars, Artists and Scientists

RSCThe Members of the College are appointed based on demonstration of a high level of excellence at an early stage of their career. Membership is for 7 years.

Stuart J. Murray, 2014

Stuart J. Murray is Canada Research Chair (Tier II) in Rhetoric and Ethics. His multidisciplinary research across the social sciences and humanities applies rhetorical theory, literary critical techniques, and textuality studies to help make sense of how burgeoning biotechnologies, healthcare systems, and communications networks and practices have ushered in a seismic shift in human subjectivity – and what a commensurate ethical response might look like.

Jennifer Evans, 2016

Jennifer Evans explores critical questions regarding how queer men and women have represented their claims to community, identity, and desire in the late 20th century. She takes an interdisciplinary perspective to methodological questions about contemporary historical practice, including the role of subjectivity and how new media technologies aid us in re-conceptualizing the spaces where vernacular as well as institutional memory happens.

Chancellor's Professors

Created in 2001, the Chancellor’s Professor designation is awarded by the President in recognition of a distinguished career of outstanding merit. The designation is restricted to candidates with at least ten years of service at the rank of Full Professor.

The Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences has nine Chancellor’s Professors. The designation is conferred on distinguished faculty by the president of Carleton University.

  • Donald Beecher – English Language and Literature
  • Michael Brklacich – Geography and Environmental Studies
  • Andrew Brook – Philosophy and Interdisciplinary Studies
  • Jacques Chevalier – Sociology and Anthropology and Comparative Studies in Literature, Art and Culture (Emeritus)
  • Wallace Clement – Sociology and Anthropology
  • Alan Hunt – Law, Sociology and Anthropology and Political Economy (FASS and FPA)
  • Jo-Anne LeFevre – Institute of Cognitive Science and Psychology
  • A. Brian McKillop – History (Emeritus)
  • John Shepherd – School for Studies in Art and Culture, Sociology and Anthropology, and Comparative Studies in Literature, Art and Culture

Chancellor’s Professors at Carleton University Policy