Rocket is a competition for Ontario’s graduating industrial designers hosted by ACIDO. Graduates nominated at the top of their class from Carleton University, Humber College, OCAD University, and Sheridan College have the opportunity to pitch their final year thesis projects to a jury of select industry professionals with the top winners announced at the Rocket Awards Ceremony.

Congratulations to our 4th-year student Rocket 2022 Nominees and  Award Winners!

The School of Industrial Design had 14 nominees (

Shannon Chlistovsky Chris Lee Cora Vasut
Vanessa Gunnell Sash Mahara Ren Wang
Amelie Houle  Shiva Moin Alexander Whiteley
Jun-Won Kim Drew Robinson Nate Wiersma
Mitchell Lebrun Delayna Smith

The Rocket’s awards are broken down into two areas, 3 awards of excellence and 11 sponsorship awards. Our students took second and third place for the awards of excellence and won seven of the sponsor awards. Congratulations on amazing projects!

2nd Place – Ren Wang
Project: Shorelines

3rd Place – Cora Vasut
Project: Iceline

Merit and Speciality Awards:

Copernicus – Future Generations Award
Vanessa Gunnell
Project: Groove
Cortex – Design User Experience Award
Cora Vasut
Project: Iceline
Entro – Design Thinking Award
Sash Mahara
Project: MemoryCache
Healthcraft – Innovation Award
Nate Wiersma
Project: Pelto
Inertia – Design Concept Award
Chris Lee
Project: Shift
Modus – Research Award
Amélie Houle
Project: Freddy
Eventscape – Prototype Award
Amélie Houle
Project: Freddy

Wednesday, July 6, 2022 in
Share: Twitter, Facebook