As a result of Russia’s invasion of Ukraine, Carleton-provided services Zoom and Duo two-factor authentication (2FA), both headquartered in the U.S, are now or will be unavailable to individuals attempting to authenticate from several countries and regions restricted by the Office of Foreign Assets Control (OFAC) — a financial intelligence and enforcement agency of the United States Treasury Department. The countries and regions below will be impacted.

·       Cuba ·       Crimea region
·       North Korea ·       Sevastopol region*
·       Iran ·       Donetsk region*
·       Sudan* ·       Luhansk region*
·       Syria  

*Countries and regions recently added to this list by the OFAC

Please be aware that other service providers may implement similar sanctions at any time. Services based in Canada are not impacted at this time.

Why is this happening? 
Sweeping sanctions were levied on Russia, its occupied regions, and potential allies in hopes of limiting its ability to finance its invasion of Ukraine. Some U.S.-based service providers used by Carleton are blocking authentications from individuals whose IP addresses originate in a country or region in compliance with these sanctions.

What does this mean for Carleton?

  • The Zoom web conferencing platform was restricted as of March 10, 2022
  • Duo 2FA will begin implementing restrictions to their service between May 5 and May 12, 2022

With those dates in mind, individuals whose IP address originates from those countries or regions attempting to authenticate to one of these services may see an “Access denied” or other login failure message. Internet connectivity may be poor in regions of Ukraine due to destruction of infrastructure.

If you have any questions regarding this change, please contact