EURUS Director Achim Hurrelmann has been awarded a Jean Monnet Chair in this year’s competition. The European Union gives this prestigious designation to university professors teaching primarily on European integration; it comprises financial support for course development as well as research and outreach activities. Professor Hurrelmann’s Jean Monnet Chair, which will be formally launched this fall, will focus on “Democracy in the European Union”. It will help support new EURUS courses both at the undergraduate and graduate levels, including our new first-year course for incoming undergraduates and a new MA-level course sequence on democracy in the EU. The Chair will also organize academic workshops, lectures, and expert briefing sessions on topics related to EU governance. It will be supported by an EU grant of €50,000 between September 2015 and August 2018. The Chair awarded to Professor Hurrelmann is the second Jean Monnet Chair housed in EURUS. Professor Joan DeBardeleben has held a Jean Monnet Chair in “The European Union’s Eastern Neighbourhood Relations” since 2011.