Awarded annually, on the recommendation of the Chair of the Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering program to one or more outstanding full-time students proceeding from third to fourth year of the Bachelor of Mechanical or Aerospace Engineering Program at Carleton University.

The eligible candidate(s) must be either Canadian citizen(s) or permanent resident(s) of Canada (landed immigrant or a protected person). Consideration will be given to academic performance in Fluid Mechanics courses and participation in extracurricular activities.

Endowed in 2006 by family, friends and colleagues of Bill Rainbird. Professor Rainbird was the first Chairman of the Department of Mechanical and Aeronautical (renamed Aerospace in 1989) Engineering and was one of the sparks behind the establishment of the Bachelor of Aerospace Engineering program at Carleton. A native of New Zealand, Bill was an excellent teacher, Ed Hilary-like in stature with a warm and generous personality.

Winners to date have been:

  • 2006 – A. Morbi
  • 2007 – K. Chisholm
  • 2008 – B. LeBlanc
  • 2009 – Q. Murphy
  • 2010 – J. Teutsch
  • 2011 – P. Suresh
  • 2012 – M. Tasson
  • 2013 – T. Tabikh
  • 2014 – K. Hovell
  • 2015 – C. Fraser
  • 2016 – S. Brown
  • 2017 – J. Mangione
  • 2018 – J. Hough