The Mattinson Scholarship Program encourages Canadian students with permanent disabilities to pursue university studies with the ultimate objective of obtaining a first undergraduate degree.

Up to four (4) scholarships at the bachelor level are distributed:

  • One (1) in the category of Physical Disability
  • One (1) in the category of Sensory Disability
  • Two (2) in any of the following categories: Physical Disability, Sensory Disability, Mental Health Disability and Learning Disability.

These scholarships are valued at $2,000 CAD, for one academic year.


Full eligibility criteria, information about scholarship categories, and instructions for how to apply are available in the 2020 Mattinson Scholarship Program Guidelines.

Eligible applicants must:

  • Be a Canadian citizen or permanent resident
  • Be diagnosed with a permanent disability which is documented and is the primary disability for which they are applying
  • Be enrolled in full time studies in a first bachelor degree program
  • Be enrolled in their second or third standing year of studies during the 2020-2021 academic year
  • Be nominated by an eligible institution
  • Have a minimum cumulative average of 80% (or equivalent) over the last three terms of available marks. Non-academic courses such as career or personal development related courses will not be considered

Selection Process:

The selection of scholarship recipients is made by a committee of Canadian university and college representatives chosen by Universities Canada. Once complete, the selection committee’s decision is irrevocable.

Evaluation criteria:

  • Academic performance
  • Volunteer/community involvement and/or extracurricular activities
  • Quality and relevance of the reference letters.

All applicants will receive confirmation by email of the results of the selection process, once available.