The Collaborative Ph.D. with a Specialization in Political Economy is especially designed for Carleton University doctoral students in participating programs in the Faculties of Arts and Social Science and Public Affairs and Management who wish to enrich their training in a particular discipline or area of study by developing a political economy approach through interdisciplinary dialogue.

Program Coordinator Laura Macdonald, Director, Institute of Political Economy

Supporting Units

The following units participate in the Collaborative Program in Political Economy:

  • School of Canadian Studies
  • Department of Geography
  • Department of History
  • Department of Law
  • Department of Political Science
  • School of Public Policy and Administration
  • School of Social Work
  • Department of Sociology and Anthropology

The program is managed by the Program Committee, comprised of representatives from the supporting units. The Program Committee is responsible for admitting students into the Collaborative Program and the Coordinator administers the program.

For more information on the Collaborative PhD with a Specialization in Political Economy, please see the Graduate Calendar.