# CONSTITUTION SPROTT SCHOOL OF BUSINESS

#### TERMS OF REFERENCE

#### Responsibilities

The Sprott Faculty Board shall:

- consider and determine all undergraduate curricula administered by the Sprott School of Business for recommendation for approval by the Senate;
- consider and determine all graduate curricula administered by the Sprott School of Business for recommendation for approval by the Faculty of Graduate Studies;
- review and make recommendations to the Dean and, where required, Senate regarding strategic issues about professional programs;
- recommend to the Senate the establishment, deletion or administrative reorganization of academic units within the Sprott School of Business;
- review and make recommendations to the Senate concerning general or faculty regulations in the Calendar, specifically those governing admission, registration, examinations, academic standing, continuation, probation and graduation as they affect the undergraduate programs administered by the Sprott School of Business;
- review and make recommendations to the Faculty of Graduate Studies concerning general or faculty regulations in the Calendar, specifically those governing admission, registration, examinations, academic standing, continuation, probation and graduation as they affect the graduate programs administered by the Sprott School of Business;
- recommend to the Senate names for honorary degrees;
- recommend to the Senate the granting of degrees, and diplomas that fall within its purview;
- recommend to the Dean of Faculty or to Senate as the Board may deem appropriate on issues related to the goals and objectives of the Faculty and/or the University.

# Composition

The voting membership of the Faculty Board of the Sprott School of Business shall be:

- 1. the Dean and Associate Deans;
- 2. CUASA eligible teaching employees;
- 3. student representatives including:
  - (a) the Sprott Student Senator;
  - (b) one second year student and one upper year student, per undergraduate program or degree;
  - (c) one student, per professional graduate program or degree;
  - (d) one student, per graduate research program or degree;
- 4. the Chief Administrative Officer of the Sprott School of Business;
- 5. one CUPE 2424 representative elected by the CUPE 2424 members within the Sprott School of Business;
- 6. one CUPE 4600 Unit 2 representative elected by the CUPE 4600 Unit 2 members within the Sprott School of Business.

# The non-voting members will be:

- 7. One representative each from:
  - (a) School of Mathematics and Statistics
  - (b) School of Computer Science
  - (c) Department of Economics
  - (d) Faculty of Engineering
  - (e) School of Linguistics and Applied Language Studies
  - (f) Director of Kroeger College
- 8. Dean of Graduate Studies (or delegate)

# Secretary/Chair of Faculty Board

Members of Faculty Board, as defined above, will elect one of its tenured or confirmed members to be Secretary for a period of 3 years. The responsibilities of the Secretary include:

- chairing meetings of the Board (in the absence of the Secretary, another tenured or confirmed faculty board member will preside);
- reporting recommendations of the Board to the Senate;
- reporting relevant proceedings of the Senate to the Board;
- acting as electoral officer for the Board. In the situation where the election is for the Secretary of the Board and the current Secretary is a candidate for

said position, another tenured or confirmed faculty board member will act as electoral officer.

In addition, with appropriate administrative support, the Secretary is responsible for:

- preparation of agendas for meetings of Faculty Board;
- recording the proceedings of Faculty Board;
- circulating the agenda, minutes, notices of motion, and any other relevant material to members of Faculty Board

#### **MEETINGS**

All other members of the University community shall be admitted to Faculty Board meetings provided they do not participate in deliberations or votes of the Board. The Board may, on 48 hours' notice, close a meeting to include only Faculty Board Members. In addition, student members of Faculty Board shall not participate in closed meetings or closed parts of meetings in which individual students' cases are discussed.

#### Quorum

A quorum at all meetings of the Faculty Board shall consist of 50% + 1 of all preliminary and/or confirmed/tenured voting members who are not on academic or personal leave with representation from at least four teaching area groups.

### **Required Meeting Schedule**

Faculty Board will meet a minimum of three times in the academic year.

#### **Calling a Meeting**

A meeting can be called by:

- 1. the Dean:
- 2. written request (to the Secretary) of a quorum of voting members (as defined above) of the Faculty Board, such meeting to convene within ten (10) working days of the request.

#### **Rules of Order**

Roberts Rules of Order will govern meeting procedures.

#### **Motions**

All expected motions of substance and associated documentation must be submitted to the Secretary ten working days before the scheduled meeting.

# Agenda

Agendas, expected motions and supporting documentation will be circulated to members of faculty board a minimum of five working days before the scheduled meeting.

# **Constitutional Amendments**

This Constitution may be adopted or amended by a vote of 2/3 of the votes cast at a regularly scheduled meeting of the Faculty Board at which a quorum is present. Notice of proposed constitutional amendments must be given in writing at least two weeks prior to the date in which the amendment is voted on.