Five faculty members from the School of Journalism and Communication have been recognized by the Faculty of Public Affairs for outstanding achievements in research, teaching and public commentary.

The winners of the annual prizes are chosen by a selection committee and were announced earlier this month. A special teaching fellowship was also awarded to an SJC faculty member.

“These awards confirm what I have known for a long time, which is that the School of Journalism and Communication has a roster of outstanding educators who are deeply committed to student-centred learning and engaged in cutting-edge research,” said Prof. Allan Thompson, the Journalism Program Head.

“I couldn’t be prouder of these deserving winners, each of whom is a trailblazer in their respective fields.”

The 2022 winners from the School of Journalism and Communication include:

Trish Audette-Longo

An Assistant Professor of journalism, Audette-Longo won the Teaching Fellowship Excellence Award, which provides full-time faculty with an opportunity to demonstrate leadership in teaching through the submission of a project proposal, as well as to reward teaching excellence.

Her innovative and timely project is focused on developing digital security skills in undergraduate and graduate journalism courses, starting with workshops and collaborative brainstorming sessions for faculty and graduate students. The project is designed as a response to the online harassment journalists experience when they are doing their jobs.

The Fellowship includes a two-year grant of up to $7,500 to explore and lead innovations in teaching.

Sarah Everts

An Associate Professor of journalism and the CTV Chair in Digital Science Journalism, Everts won the Public Commentary Excellence Award. It recognizes a significant contribution by a faculty member in sharing expertise and research with the media or community, enhancing public understanding of the issues of the day, and stimulating dialogue and discourse among the public at large.

Everts is the author of the critically-acclaimed book The Joy of Sweat. Subsequent to the book’s publication in 2021, she did more than 60 interviews with a wide array of national and international media outlets and also published multiple articles in the Guardian, The Walrus and Science News, among others. Additionally, Everts has been a frequent speaker at public events and commentator in the news media on topics ranging from vaccine hesitancy, COVID-19 misinformation, the opioid crisis, and the use of TikTok to deliver mainstream news.

Emily Hiltz

An Instructor II in communication and media studies, Hiltz won the Teaching Excellence Award, which recognizes a full-time faculty member for consistency in teaching excellence over time and across courses, successful innovation in curriculum or classroom instruction, and commitment to student advising and engagement.

Hiltz, who teaches a variety of undergraduate and graduate courses with a focus on research methods, was recognized for fostering inclusive, safe and supportive learning environments for students, and for being flexible and responsive to students’ well-being. When the COVID-19 pandemic forced a shift to online instruction, Hiltz adopted more flexible models of assessment that are grounded in an understanding of learning as non-linear and complex.

Vicky McArthur

An Associate Professor and program director of the media production and design program, McArthur won a Research Excellence Award, which recognizes excellence and leadership in research over the two preceding years. One award is given per professorial rank (assistant professor, associate professor and full professor).

McArthur’s primary research interests fall within the area of communication and media studies with a focus on storytelling in augmented reality (AR) and virtual reality (VR). She has published eight peer-reviewed articles in the past three years in prestigious journals such as Feminist Media Studies, Behaviour and Information Technology and Frontiers in Psychology. She has been the recipient of multiple grants from the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council and is the first faculty member in the Faculty of Public Affairs to ever win a grant from the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council (NSERC).

Stéfy McKnight

An assistant professor in the media production and design program, McKnight also won a Research Excellence Award.

Since arriving at Carleton in July 2020, McKnight has won upwards of $155,000 in research funding, including a Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council Insight Development grant valued at $73,000 for their research-creation project “PROTOHYVE: Centre for Innovative Research Creation.” McKnight’s work centres around research-creation and art-making as a methodology for knowledge production, specifically in the context of surveillance as a contemporary form of colonialism in Canada post 9/11, and queer and 2SLGBTQIA+ activism and archives.

The School of Journalism and Communication has a long track record of success when it comes to the FPA Excellence Awards.

Previous SJC winners include Brett Popplewell (2021), Joshua Greenberg (2020), Melanie Leblanc (2019), Melanie Coulson (2018), Georgina Grosenick (2017), Sandra Robinson (2017), Coleen Kornelsen (2016), Dwayne Winseck (2014), Carole Crasswell (2013), Klaus Pohle (2012), Sheryl Hamilton (2010), Mark Valcour (2008), Ira Wagman (2007) and Mary Choueiri (2003).

Friday, August 19, 2022 in ,
Share: Twitter, Facebook