Welcome to the Adjuncts page. Here you will find information about our Adjunct Research Professors and Adjunct Professors.

Who Can Supervise My Thesis?

Name and Affiliation Email
Seantel Anaïs
Ph.D. (Carleton)
University of Winnipeg
***Sociology MA only
sean.anais@uottawa.ca
Claudio Aporta
Ph.D. (Alberta)
Dalhousie University
***Anthropology
claudio_aporta@carleton.ca
Tanya Basok
Ph.D. (York)
University of Windsor
***Sociology
basok@uwindsor.ca
Simon Brascoupé
M.A. (SUNY)
CIHR, Certified First Nations Health Manager
***Anthropology MA only
simonbrascoupe@hotmail.com
Kristin Bright
Ph.D. (California, Santa-Cruz)
Carleton University
***Anthropology
kristin.bright@carleton.ca
Kara Brisson-Boivin
Ph.D. (Carleton)
Director of Research, Mediasmarts
*** Sociology MA only
kara.brisson@carleton.ca
Christine Bruckert
Ph.D. (Carleton)
University of Ottawa, Department of Criminology
***Sociology
christine.bruckert@uottawa.ca
Daniel Buckles
Ph.D. (Carleton)
Senior Research Associate (Carleton)
www.sas2.net
***Anthropology
daniel.buckles@carleton.ca
Tullio Caputo
Ph.D. (Michigan State)
Carleton University, retired
***Sociology
tullio.caputo@carleton.ca
Erin Connell
Ph.D. (Carleton)
Privy Council Office, Government of Canada
***Sociology MA only
erin.connell@cic.gc.ca
Simten Cosar
Ph.D. (Bilkent)
Cornell Institute for European Studies
Cornell University
***Sociology MA only
hsc45@cornell.edu
Walter DeKeseredy
Ph.D. (York)
Anna Deane Carlson Endowed Chair of Social Sciences,
Director of the Research Center on Violence,
Department of Sociology and Anthropology,
West Virginia University
***Sociology
walter.dekeseredy@mail.wvu.edu
Colleen Dell
Ph.D. (Carleton)
University of Saskatchewan
***Sociology
colleen.dell@usask.ca
Keith Denny
Ph.D. (Toronto)
Director, Research and Policy, Canadian Healthcare Association
***Sociology
ktdenny90@gmail.com
Jonathan Dewar
Ph.D. (Carleton)
Executive Director, First Nations Information Governance Centre
***Sociology
jdewar@fnigc.ca
Chris Dixon
Ph.D. (USC, Santa-Cruz)
Board Member, Institute for Anarchist Studies
***Sociology MA only
chris.dixon@carleton.ca
Andrea Doucet
Ph.D. (Cambridge)
Sociology Professor, Brock University
Canada Research Chair in Gender, Work and Care
***Sociology
andreadoucet078@gmail.com
Bryan C. Gordon
Ph.D. (Calgary)
Archaeological Survey of Canada
Canadian Museum of Civilization
***Anthropology MA only
bryan.gordon@civilisations.ca
Jennie Hornosty
Ph.D. (York)
Department of Sociology, University of New Brunswick (Retired)
not a supervisor
jennie.hornosty@carleton.ca
Beth E. Jackson
Ph.D. (York)
Public Health Agency of Canada
***Sociology
beth.jackson@phac-aspc.gc.ca
Leslie-Anne Keown
Ph.D. (Calgary)
Statistics Canada
***Sociology
lkeown@connect.carleton.ca
Gerison Lansdown (Adjunct Professor)
Honorary Doctorate (Carleton)
Associate, International Institute for Child Rights & Development
***Sociology MA only
gerison.lansdown@gmail.com
Sylvie Leblanc
Ph.D. (Alberta)
The Inuksuit Project,
Postdoctoral Research Fellow, Carleton University
***Anthropology MA only
sylvie_leblanc@carleton.ca
Pat O’Malley
Ph.D. (London University)
University of Sydney, Faculty of Law
***Sociology
pat.o’malley@anu.edu.au
Jane Parpart
University of Massachusetts, Department of Conflict Resolution, Human Security, and Global Governance
***Sociology
jane.parpart@umb.edu
Mike Patterson
Ph.D. (Carleton)
Community Health Research Unit
University of Ottawa
***Sociology
mike_patterson@carleton.ca
Senator Landon Pearson, O.C.
M.Ed. (Ottawa)
Landon Pearson Resource Centre
for the Study of Childhood and Children’s Rights
Carleton University
***Sociology MA only
landon.pearson@carleton.ca
Justin Piche
Ph.D. (Carleton)
University of Ottawa, Department of Criminology
***Sociology
Justin.Piche@uottawa.ca
Jean-Luc Pilon (Adjunct Professor)
Ph.D. (Toronto)
Curator of Ontario Archaeology, Canadian Museum of Civilization
Archaeologist,
***Anthropology MA only
Jean-Luc.Pilon@civilization.ca
Bali Ram
Ph.D. (Ohio State)
Statistics Canada
***Sociology
bram42@yahoo.com
Tom Sherwood
Ph.D. (Carleton)
Carleton University, retired
*not a supervisor
tom_sherwood@carleton.ca
Rob Shields
PhD (Sussex)
Professor, University of Alberta
***Sociology
rshields@ualberta.ca
Roberta Sinclair
Ph.D. (Carleton)
Royal Canadian Mounted Police
***Sociology MA only
roberta.sinclair@rcmp-grc.gc.ca
Frances Slaney
Ph.D. (Laval)
Carleton University, retired
***Anthropology
frances.slaney@carleton.ca
Paul Thibaudeau
Ph.D. (Toronto)
Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada
***Anthropology MA only
paul.thibaudeau@carleton.ca
Lil Tonmyr
Ph.D. (Carleton)
Public Health Agency of Canada
Canadian Child Welfare Research
***Sociology
Lil_Tonmyr@phac-aspc.gc.ca
Adnan Turegun
Ph.D. (Carleton)
Centre for International Migration and Settlement Studies
***Sociology
adnan_turegun@carleton.ca
Melanie White
Ph.D. (Carleton)
Senior Lecturer in Social Theory
University of New South Wales
Former Faculty (Carleton)
***Sociology
melanie.white@unsw.edu.au
Nathan Young
Ph.D. (British Columbia)
Vice-Dean of Governance and Internationalization, Faculty of Social Sciences
University of Ottawa
***Sociology
Nathan.Young@uottawa.ca

*May supervise both MA and PhD theses
** May supervise MA theses and co-supervise PhD theses until granted tenure, when will have full supervision status.
*** May co-supervise MA and PhD theses with the permission of FGPA

Supervision status is granted based on rank. If you have questions about supervisory status, please consult the Graduate Administrator, Darlene Moss. The following legend is meant as an indication only. Please make sure to consult with the faculty you’re interested in working with.

This table indicates which types of professors, instructors, and adjunct faculty are eligible to serve as Supervisors, Co-Supervisors, and Committee members for M.A. and Ph.D. student theses