Supervision status is granted based on rank. If you have questions about supervisory status, please consult the Graduate Administrator, Darlene Moss (darlene.moss@carleton.ca). The following legend is meant as an indication only. Please make sure to consult with the faculty you’re interested in working with:
* May supervise both MA and PhD theses
** May supervise MA theses and co-supervise PhD theses until granted tenure, when will have full supervision status.
*** May co-supervise MA and PhD theses with the permission of FGPA

Who Can Supervise My Thesis?

NAME INTERESTS Email Ext.
Nahla Abdo* Settler colonialism and indigenous studies, gendered colonialism and Middle Eastern women, oral history and critical feminist research methods, orientalism and imperialism nahla.abdo@carleton.ca 3569
Xiaobei Chen* The child citizen, governance, racism, culturalism, colonialism, migration xiaobei.chen@carleton.ca 3990
Wallace Clement* Political economy, Canadian society, social stratification, the labour process, class formation and the labour process in mining and fishing, national survey of class structure and gender in Canada, with a comparison to Finland, Norway, Sweden, and the United States, class and the state in Canada, Australia, Sweden, Japan, West Germany, and the United Kingdom, comparative labour market policies and practices wallace.clement@carleton.ca 2772
Deborah Conners Community engagement, social justice, politics and reconciliation of gender issues, feminism, men’s organizations, sociology of knowledge, racialization and racism deborah.conners@carleton.ca 5064
Tonya Davidson Urban spaces, public memory, nostalgia, popular culture, and Canadian identity tonya.davidson@carleton.ca 2087
Darryl Davies Police oversight and accountability, police militarization, risk focused and evidence-based crime prevention, criminal justice policy and sentencing, corrections darryl.davies@carleton.ca 2605
Aaron Doyle* Critical and public criminology, risk, insurance, and security, surveillance, crime and media aaron.doyle@carleton.ca 1914
William Flynn Historical and contemporary forms of travel and tourism, tourist guidebooks, and how identities are formed under liminal and unusual circumstances william.flynn3@carleton.ca 1198
Kelly Fritsch** Disability studies, sociology of health, illness, and medicine, feminist science and technology studies, political economy, social and political theory, social movements kelly.fritsch@carleton.ca 2617
Neil Gerlach* Apocalypse culture, sociology of war, biotechnology and social control neil.gerlach@carleton.ca 1331
Katharine Kelly* Homicide, gendered violence, youth crime, youth gangs katharine.kelly@carleton.ca 6643
Jacqueline Kennelly* Youth cultures, urban sociology, social movements, citizenship, phenomenology, qualitative methods, homelessness, Olympics jacqueline.kennelly@carleton.ca 8103
Zhiqiu Lin* Theories of crime, crime trends, legal reforms in China, Chinese society, law and society, quantitative research methods zhiqiu.lin@carleton.ca 1099
Amina Mire* Women and health, anti-ageing, globalization of whiteness, gender and the sociology of science and technology amina.mire@carleton.ca 4476
Michael Mopas* sound studies, science, technology and law, cultural studies, criminology and sociolegal studies, food studies michael.mopas@carleton.ca 2990
Carlos Novas* Biopolitics, governmentality, science and technology studies, biological citizenship, biosociality carlos.novas@carleton.ca Email
Augustine Park* Transitional justice, race/racism/racialisation, children/childhoods, international intervention, political violence augustine.park@carleton.ca 2593
Justin Paulson* Social movements, political economy, Marxist theory, public goods and services justin.paulson@carleton.ca 2938
Christine Pich Occupational and environmental health, knowledge and ignorance, labour studies, sociology of law, workers’ compensation, social studies of science, medicine, and technology christine.pich@carleton.ca 4218
George Pollard* Mathematical sociology, quantitative methods, sociology of entertainment, media sociology, social psychology george.pollard@carleton.ca 2623
Steven Prus* Gerontology, social epidemiology, quantitative methods steven.prus@carleton.ca 3760
Alexis Shotwell* Politics of health, critical disability studies, feminist theory, race and racialization. alexis.shotwell@carleton.ca 3082
Daiva Stasiulis* Citizenship studies, global migration, multiple citizenship and transnationalism, state discourses and practices of multiculturalism, immigration and anti-racist policies,feminist intersectionality and social inequality, critical race studies, sociology of emotions. daiva.stasiulis@carleton.ca 1098
Rania Tfaily* Social Demography, Inequality in Education, Sociology of the Family, Health Disparities, Quantitative Methods rania.tfaily@carleton.ca 2625
Michel Vallée*** Youth culture and youth justice, community development and mobilization, community crime control, crime prevention, law enforcement and police management, socio-legal policy and program development michel.vallee@carleton.ca 2606
Friskjen (Pum) van Veldhoven pum.vanveldhoven@carleton.ca 1127
William Walters* Migration studies, Foucault, political sociology, citizenship studies, secrecy william.walters@carleton.ca 2790
Sociology Faculty in Other Departments
Patricia Ballamingie* Localizing food systems and sustainable community, community-university partnerships, environmental conflict and deliberative democracy patricia.ballamingie@carleton.ca 8566
Susan Braedley* Political economy of health care and social services work, social reproduction theory and feminist political economy, gender and social policy, disability and ageing, radical social work practice and theory susan.braedley@carleton.ca 3662
Nicolas Carrier* Social systems theory, theoretical criminology, social control, sociology of law and punishment, moralization, biocriminology, drug policies nicolas.carrier@carleton.ca 1237
Patrizia Gentile* Cultural/gender history, history of sexuality, history and theory of the body, beauty contests, national security, October Crisis and immigrant communities, queer theory patrizia.gentile@carleton.ca 1456
Joshua Greenberg* Crisis/risk communication, public relations, media and disasters, public health, and political communication joshua.greenberg@carleton.ca 1965
Roy Hanes* disability history, disability and immigration, disability and employment, and disability supports, accessibility, accommodation and supports within schools of Social Work across Canada roy.hanes@carleton.ca 3545
Jennifer Henderson* Canadian literature, cultural studies in and of Canada, settler colonialism, gender studies jennifer.henderson@carleton.ca 2367
Lara Karaian* Legal regulation and construction of sex, gender and sexuality, feminist, critical race, queer and transgender legal theory, critical criminology, cultural criminology, and porn studies lara.karaian@carleton.ca 1458
Maeve McMahon* Criminal justice in the Baltic States maeve.mcmahon@carleton.ca 8095
Dawn Moore* The role of photographic evidence, feminism, queer theory, Actor-Network Theory and cultural studies, the constitution of criminalized subjectivities, political and public engagement, prisoners experience of imprisonment dawn.moore@carleton.ca 3823
Allan Moscovitch* History of the Welfare State in Canada, social administration, particularly the administration of social assistance, Federal/Provincial relations and social welfare, Aboriginal peoples and social welfare, poverty allan.moscovitch@carleton.ca 8918
Xuan Thuy Nguyen** Critical disability studies, critical policy studies, inclusive education, critical theory, human rights and post-colonial studies, visual methodologies XuanThuyNguyen@cunet.carleton.ca 5042
George Rigakos* Pacification, anti-security, political economy of public and private policing, increasing role of Business Improvement Areas (BIAs) in local governance and security, nightclubs as spectacles of risk, insecurity and consumption in late capitalism, mutualism, cooperative production george.rigakos@carleton.ca 3683
Megan Rivers-Moore*** intersections of sociology, gender studies, and Latin American and Caribbean studies, how sexuality operates transnationally, gendered affective labour, travel and tourism, race and ethnicity, postcolonial and transnational feminisms, and qualitative methods megan.riversmoore@carleton.ca 3201
Rebecca Schein*** Marxist political economy and cultural studies, commodification and decommodification of public goods and services, rights, commons, citizenship, and moral claims, mutual aid and social movement dynamics, social movement or community unionism, and political cultures of solidarity rebecca.schein@carleton.ca 1660
Dale Spencer*** Criminalization of Marginalized Populations, with a focus on youth and homeless people, violence, victimization dale.spencer@carleton.ca 8096