The mission of the Centre for Studies on Poverty and Social Citizenship is to generate critical and innovative knowledge about poverty and social citizenship that can be used to inform both social work policy and practice in schools of social work and in our communities.

In focusing on social citizenship, the Centre aims to address reducing poverty and inequality not only in terms of meeting people’s basic needs, such as decent food, clothing, and shelter, but also ensuring that all people are able to fully participate in society free of all forms of exploitation. This means expanding on the social welfare role of the state to ensure that a basic standard of social citizenship is achieved for all.

The focus of the Centre for Studies on Poverty and Social Citizenship, is consistent with the School of Social Work’s commitment to knowledge that advances social justice and progressive social change. This commitment is a part of structural social work, an approach which was pioneered at the Carleton School of Social Work.

The School continues to provide leadership through its teaching, research, and publications in the ongoing development of this critical approach to intervention and to social citizenships. The structural approach informs and is informed by research, and by new developments in practice theory.

 Committee Members

The Management Committee of the Centre consists of faculty members of the School of Social Work, representatives from other academic departments,  professional social work associations and community-based social welfare organizations within the Ottawa Region. The Centre also looks forward to inviting School of Social Work students to serve as Management Committee members within the coming year.

New opportunities with CSPSC:

CSPSC RA Position

CSPSC Student Committee Member

Somali Centre RA Position

Current Members:

Adje Van De Sande (Chair) – School of Social Work, Carleton University
Gerald de Montigny – School of Social Work, Carleton University
Allan Moscovitch – School of Social Work, Carleton University
Therese Jennissen – School of Social Work, Carleton University
Karen Schwartz – Faculty of Public Affairs, Carleton University
Jennifer Robson – Arthur Kroeger College of Public Affairs, Carleton University
Tracey Lauriault – School of Journalism and Communication, Carleton University
Fred Phelps – Canadian Association of Social Workers
Alexandra Wright – Canadian Association for Social Work Education
Leilani Farha – Canada Without Poverty / UN Special Rapporteur on the Right to Adequate Housing
Michele Biss – Canada Without Poverty