Vancouver, BC (January 12, 2017) – Submissions are now open for the Dhahan Prize, the world’s signature prize in Punjabi literature. Authors who have published novels or short story collections in 2016 in either of the Punjabi scripts, Gurmukhi and Shahmukhi, are invited to submit their works for the $25,000 CDN first prize. Two second prizes of $5,000 CDN will also be awarded.
Based in Vancouver, Canada, The Dhahan Prize for Punjabi Literature was established in 2013 to recognize excellence in Punjabi literature, and to celebrate the rich culture and transnational heritage of the Punjabi language and literature. Its mission is to inspire the creation of Punjabi literature across borders, bridging Punjabi communities around the world and promoting Punjabi literature on a global scale.
The prize was founded by Barj and Rita Dhahan, with support from family, friends, and the University of British Columbia (UBC). The Prize is awarded annually by the Canada India Education Society (CIES). It is awarded at the international level each year to three books of fiction in Punjabi written in either of the two scripts, Gurmukhi or Shahmukhi.
Submissions will be accepted via the Dhahan Prize website, Eligible works of fiction must be received for review by March 15, 2017.
On October 29, 2016, the Dhahan Prize Award Event took place in Vancouver, BC at the Museum of Anthropology. Featured keynote speaker M.G. Vassanji who said. “The Dhahan Prize is an ambitious prize, dare I say, it is a hopeful prize; a generous prize, and broad-minded. … It is spiritually uplifting to tell stories, recall our lives – ask ourselves who we are, why we are; and there is something to admire in those who craft and write stories, often at the cost of personal sacrifices.”
Past years winners:
• 2016, Winner Jarnail Singh for his short story collection, Kaale Varke
• 2016, Runner Up Zahid Hassan for his novel, Tassi Dharti
• 2016, Runner Up Simran Dhaliwal for his short story collection, Us Pal
• 2015, Winner Darshan Singh for his novel, Lota
• 2015, Runner Up Harjeet Atwal for his novel, Mor Udaari
• 2015, Runner Up Nain Sukh for his novel, Madhoo Lal Hussain
• 2014, Winner Avtar Singh Billing for his novel, Kali Khoohaan di Katha
• 2014, Runner Up Jasbir Bhullar for his short story collection, Ek Raat Da Samunder
• 2014, Runner Up Zubair Ahmad for his short story collection, Kabutar, Banaire Te Galian
For more information, visit, or join the conversation on Twitter or Facebook.
For Media Interviews: Carolyn Treger, 604-831.6831,