Patrol Services is the uniformed unit of the Campus Safety Services. There are 4 patrol teams, each comprised of a Shift Manager, Campus Safety Officers and a Dispatcher.

A Special Constable is a sworn Peace Officer by the Ottawa Police Service. Special Constables at Carleton University have the authority to enforce the following statutes: Criminal Code of Canada, Controlled Drugs and Substance Act, Mental Health Act, Liquor License Act, Trespass to Property Act, Child and Family Services Act and also the Carleton University Policies, Parking and Traffic Regulations.