The Julius Maximilians University of Würzburg, Germany
Doctor of Philosophy (PhD), Computer Science
1983 – 1986 (summa cum laude)

The University of Würzburg was founded in 1402 and is one of Germany’s oldest universities. 14 Nobel Laureates in Science and Medicine have researched and taught at the University of Würzburg.

RWTH Aachen University, Germany
Bachelor’s and Master’s Degree, Computer Science
1978 – 1983 (with distinction)

RWTH Aachen University is the largest technical university in Germany, also known as the “MIT of Germany”. The RWTH Aachen has Germany’s leading automotive engineering school and a supercomputing institute with some of Europe’s largest parallel computers.