The Ānako Indigenous Research Institute is led by the Office of the Associate Vice-President (Indigenous Teaching, Learning and Research).

Ānako’s Advisors: The Indigenous Education Council

The advisory body for the Ānako Indigenous Research Institute is Carleton University’s Indigenous Education Council (IEC).

The IEC has a mandate to promote, guide and oversee the implementation of policies, programming and services that impact Indigenous students while attending Carleton. The IEC also works closely with local Indigenous communities to promote the success of all current and future Indigenous students.

Comprised of Indigenous community members as well as faculty, staff, and students from Carleton University, the IEC meets once per term during the regular academic year.

Pictured Left to Right: Kahente Horn-Miller, Jerry Tomberlin, Benny Michaud and Barbara Dumont-Hill

IEC Representatives:

Name Position Nation
Anita Tenasco (co-chair) Director, Kitigan Zibi Education Department Anishinabe – Algonquin Nation
Benny Michaud (co-chair) Director, Centre for Indigenous Initiatives Michif- Metis Nation
Dwight Beron Jr. Community Member Mohawks of Akwesasne
Barbara Dumont-Hill Community Member Algonquin Anishinabeg from Kitigan Zibi
Theresa Hendricks Indigenous Special Project and Administrative Coordinator Metis Nation
Kahente Horn-Miller Associate Vice-President, Indigenous Teaching, Learning and Research Kanien’kehá:ka of Kahnawà:ke
Cle-Alls Kelly Community Member Haida Gwaii
Amanda Kilabuk Director, Employment and Education – Tungasuvvingat Inuit Inuk
Kris Meawasige Indigenous Student Support and Re-engagement Coordinator OCDSB Anishinaabe Serpent River First Nation
Della Meness Manager, Education Services Algonquins of Pikwakanagan First Nation
Marie-Louise Perron Community Member Metis Nation
Irene Compton Manager of Cultural Programs Saulteaux – Keeseekoose First Nation
Kirstei Abbot Indigenous Student Advisor and Assistant Program Coordinator IESP Bonnechere Algonquin First Nation