Winning personalities

Public Affairs Faculty and staff gathered on Tuesday, April 6th to
celebrate their achievements, and to honour the 2010 recipients of research, teaching and staff awards.

Vincent Kazmierski and Simon Power each received the 2010 Teaching Excellence award.

Since he first stepped off the elevators on the fourth floor of
the Loeb Building five years ago, Kazmierski has lead the way in
developing a new and improved undergraduate curriculum in law.
It didn’t take long for Carleton’s Educational Development Centre
to discover him, and he is often asked to participate in orientation
sessions for new faculty.

Simon Power is used to getting awards: he earned a University
Teaching Achievement Award in 1995 and 2001, a Capital Educators’ Award in 2004, a 2007 LIFT award, and the Faculty of Public Affairs Teaching Achievement Award in 2005. A tireless advocate of highquality teaching, he played an instrumental role in the redesign of the undergraduate economics curriculum, as well as the design of a new Ph.D. field in econometrics, with the University of Ottawa.

Sheryl Hamilton, Canada Research Chair in Communication Law and Governance, received the Research Award. 2009 was a good year for Hamilton: two books published, a third forthcoming, the launch of a new research centre, chapters in edited books, a scholarly conference, papers presented in Boston and Athens, Greece … to name a few. Now that she’s won the FPA research award, she’ll be busy organizing a research symposium, Knowing Bodies- Bodies of Knowledge: An Interdisciplinary Symposium on Biotechnology, Culture and Law, scheduled to take place in the fall of 2010.

The Staff Award of Excellence went to Diane Dodds, of the Department of Political Science, known for her unflagging
dedication and commitment to students, and her “deep and
palpable sense of pride and accomplishment in both her own work
and in the department that is nothing short of inspiring.”