For ten years the signature project for 3ci was the Community Economic Development Technical Assistance Program (CEDTAP) providing grants for technical assistance in community economic development.  Over that period $10 million was distributed to CED organizations in Canada.  In 2008 CEDTAP moved from grant making to knowledge mobilization drawing on the dataset gathered on CED practices across Canada.

The predecessor organization to 3ci was the Centre for the Study of Training, Investment and Economic Restructuring (CSTIER), a multi-disciplinary organized research unit in Carleton University’s Faculty of Public Affairs and Management. From 1993 to 2003, the Centre grew to become one of the Faculty’s largest and most active research units, working with all sectors–non-profits, unions, business and governments–to generate action-oriented research on strategies for community and economic renewal in a changing Canadian and world economy.

With strong support from the Dean’s Office, and engaging some 20 faculty members and more than 30 students in its work during this period, CSTIER:

  • launched the bilingual Community Economic Development Technical Assistance Program (CEDTAP), which has become the country’s leading non-profit grantmaker and knowledge network in the social economy;
  • conducted leading-edge research on regional economic diversification and governance of Canada’s Capital Region;
  • placed Carleton students in community organizations in Eastern Ontario to promote CED, small business and youth development;
  • carried out nationally disseminated research on women in CED, angel investors, women-owned small businesses, and rural manufacturing enterprises;
  • conducted impact analysis of labour-sponsored venture capital funds, and prepared case studies of innovative workplace change;
  • with trade unions and scholars, designed and tested training curricula in ethical and community investment strategies and corporate governance standards;
  • incubated the start-up of the Carleton-World Bank International Program for Development Evaluation Training (IPDEC), a residential professional development initiative; and
  • jointly designed and led the formation of an international knowledge network on local economic development involving Carleton, the Canadian International Development Agency, CUSO and non-governmental organizations from Chile, Peru, Costa Rica, Bolivia, Brazil and El Salvador.

The J. W. McConnell Family Foundation and the Canadian Imperial Bank of Commerce provided multi-year program grants in support of CSTIER’s work. Project funding came from a wide range of donors and clients, including: Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada, the Atkinson Foundation, Canadian Co-operative Association-Ontario Region, Canadian International Development Agency, Canadian Labour Market and Productivity Centre, Columbia Foundation, Human Resources Development Canada, International Development Research Centre, Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council, Tides Canada Foundation, and the World Bank.

Among the leading faculty members involved in CSTIER’s work were Deans Allan Maslove, Tom Wilkinson and Marilyn Marshall, Associate Deans Jon Pammett, Katherine Graham and Al Riding, and Professors Frances Abele, Edward Jackson, Fran Klodawsky, Vinod Kumar, Barbara Orser, Susan Phillips, Gillian Walker, Iain Wallace and Bessa Whitmore. Research associates and project staff included CEDTAP heads Jacques Carrière and Barbara Levine, and Administrator Norean Shepherd, together with Julia Bracken, Brian Clavier, Gordon DiGiacomo, Ray Funk, Shirley Falstead, Cindy Goldberg, Tessa Hebb, Rahil Kahn, François Lamontagne, Cathy Lang, Lucie Langdeau, Patrick Larbi, Maureen Ledwell, Carol Madsen, and Catherine Leviten-Reid, Kirsty Pazek, and Tatyana Teplova.

CSTIER also received valuable advice on its projects from a wide range of individuals. We are especially grateful to Bob Baldwin, Ruth Baldwin, Lisa Banks, Darcy Beggs, Trish Blackstaffe, Cliff Bennett, Paul Born, Dal Brodhead, Tim Brodhead, Larry Brown, Rose Candia, Isla Carmichael, Ethel Coté, David Driscoll, Larry Forcier, Doug House, Jocelyne Laforce, Anne Lamont, Sandra Lawn, Susie Lobo, Margie Mendell, Charles Pascal, Katharine Pearson, Gleyse Peter, Edgar Pabon, Jack Quarter, Rolando Ramirez, Juan Sanchez, John Saxby, Chris Smart, Maria Saenz, Sherri Torjman, Gonzalo Valduieso, Bob Vokey, and Romulo Zaruaz.