Location: The Office of Dean, Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences is located in Paterson Hall. The various departments, institutes, schools and colleges are housed in six buildings: Loeb Building, Dunton Tower, Paterson Hall, St. Patrick’s Building, the Life Sciences Research Centre, the Social Sciences Research Building, and the Visualization and Simulation Building (map)
- Bachelor of Arts General (BA)
- Bachelor of Arts Honours
- Bachelor in Cognitive Science (BCogSc)
- Bachelor of Global and International Studies (BGInS)
- Bachelor of Humanities (BHum)
- Bachelor of Music (BMus)
- Bachelor of Science (BSc)
- Bachelor of Arts Undeclared (BA)
- 19 master’s and 11 doctoral programs
For more information visit our Program page.
Our Beginning - Carleton College
In 1942, Carleton College was established under the guidance of Henry Marshall Tory. Tory began the college to provide evening classes to wartime workers, but also with a firm belief in a broader future and the unique advantage offered by its capital location.
The college began offering full-time studies in 1945 and the Faculty of Arts and Science was established. The next few years saw the creation of a number of Bachelor of Arts programs, as well as several honours programs. In the decades that followed, arts and science programming grew, as did the university. In 1997, the faculty was renamed the Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences.
The Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences is now established as an integral part of Carleton University. Today, the faculty offers 30 areas of studies at graduate and undergraduate levels and garners world-class instructors renowned for their cutting-edge research and influential writings.
The unique capital advantage that Tory recognized at Carleton’s conception is now benefiting thousands of arts and social sciences students. Situated within a city rich in museums, embassies, libraries and international associations, Carleton — Canada’s Capital University — provides a clear advantage.
About the Image: Carleton College in 1948 (situated in the Glebe at Lyon and First avenue) where classes were held until the late 1950s.