Indigenous Education Council

The Indigenous Education Council (IEC) has a mandate to promote, guide and oversee the implementation of policies, programing and services that impact Indigenous students while attending Carleton University.

The IEC also works closely with local Indigenous communities to promote the success of all current and future Indigenous students.

The IEC meets once per term during the regular academic year (between September and April).

2022-2023 IEC Representatives

Name Position Nation
Anita Tenasco (co-chair) Director, Kitigan Zibi Education Department Anishinabe – Algonquin Nation
Benny Michaud (co-chair) Director, Centre for Indigenous Initiatives Michif – Métis Nation
Veronica Jacobs Community Member Mohawks of Akwesasne
Barbara Dumont-Hill Community Member Algonquin Anishinabeg from Kitigan Zibi
Theresa Hendricks Indigenous Special Project and Administrative Coordinator Métis Nation
Kahente Horn-Miller Faculty Member, Indigenous and Canadian Studies Kanien’kehá:ka of Kahnawà:ke
Cle-Alls Kelly Community Member Haida Gwaii
Amanda Kilabuk Director, Employment and Education – Tungasuvvingat Inuit Inuk
Kris Meawasige Indigenous Student Support and Re-engagement Coordinator OCDSB Anishinaabe Serpent River First Nation
Della Meness Manager, Education Services Algonquins of Pikwakanagan First Nation
Marie-Louise Perron Community Member Métis Nation
Irene Compton Manager of Cultural Programs Saulteaux – Keeseekoose First Nation
Rylee Godin IESP Specialist and Counsellor Métis Nation

The IEC is comprised of Indigenous community members as well as faculty, staff, and students from Carleton University.