To all Members of the Carleton Community,

We are pleased to announce that Carleton University is welcoming Prof. Mustafa Bahran for a one-year appointment as part of the Scholars at Risk (SAR) program.

Prof. Bahran will be a visiting professor in the Department of Physics. His appointment was arranged in partnership with the Institute of International Education’s Scholar Rescue Fund (IIE-SRF). He joins Prof. Rahim Surkhi, another IIE-SRF fellow who is at Carleton as part of the SAR program and has been teaching in the School of Linguistics and Language Studies.

In addition to teaching over the next year, Prof. Bahran will participate in events, work with students, give lectures and contribute to research programs. He will also assist with the Department of Physics Drop-In Centre.

“Carleton University is proud to host its fourth Scholar at Risk as they provide our campus community with invaluable experiences that we can all learn from,” said Jerry Tomberlin, interim provost and vice-president (Academic). Carleton hosted its first Scholar at Risk in 2014.

The SAR program supports academics who are at risk in their home countries and offers them a unique opportunity to teach and interact with colleagues and students in safe environments. The Carleton SAR Committee works with the Scholars at Risk (SAR) network, the Scholar Rescue Fund and other organizations dedicated to protecting threatened scholars, preventing attacks on higher education communities, and promoting academic freedom worldwide.

The Carleton SAR Committee and the Carleton Students Scholars at Risk Committee look forward to working with and learning from Prof. Bahran.

A welcome event for Prof. Bahran is planned for the fall and details will be shared with the Carleton community once arrangements are finalized.

For more information about Carleton’s Scholars at Risk program, please visit our website.


Jerry Tomberlin, Interim Provost and Vice-President (Academic)
Carleton Scholars at Risk Committee (Melanie Adrian, Chair)
Carleton University Academic Staff Association (Root Gorelick, President)