The Faculty of Public Affairs announced its annual excellence awards on May 16, 2023 . “These awards recognize the outstanding contributions of FPA faculty members, staff and instructors in the areas of education, research and outreach,” said Brenda O’Neill, Dean of the Faculty of Public Affairs. “We are fortunate to work with such dedicated and talented people in our university community.”

The award winners were chosen by committees led by the associate deans of the Faculty of Public Affairs. The winners were honoured by a luncheon in the Loeb Building and a cash award.

Congratulations to SPPA faculty and students who have won the following FPA Excellence Awards for 2023 :

Equity & Inclusion Excellence Award Winners

Avee Purohit and Joyce Wamambo

Avee Purohit (MPPA 2022) and Joyce Wamambo (MPPA 2023)  for work when they were students in the School of Public Policy and Administration

The Equity & Inclusion Excellence Award recognizes significant contributions by an individual or group of faculty, staff, and students towards equity, diversity, inclusion, and decolonization (EDID) in the Faculty of Public Affairs. In 2023, up to three awards may be granted; one award may be given each year thereafter.


Public Commentary Award Winner

Amanda Clarke

Associate Professor Amanda Clarke, School of Public Policy and Administration

The Public Commentary Excellence Award recognizes a significant contribution by a faculty member over a three year period ending in the nomination year in sharing expertise and research with the media or community, enhancing public understanding of the issues of the day, and stimulating dialogue and discourse among the public at large.  Examples of relevant activities may include op-eds or blog writing at the local, national or international level; media interviews; or community-based speaking engagements.


Research Excellence Award Winner

Mehdi Ammi

SPPA Associate Professor Mehdi Ammi

The Faculty of Public Affairs Research Excellence Award is given to recognize excellence and leadership in research by a FPA faculty member in the preceding two years. One award is given per professorial rank (assistant professor; associate professor; full professor).

View all of the 2023 FPA Excellence Award recipients on the Faculty of Public Affairs website.