The annual John Adjeleian Lecture was held April 11, 2017 during which the Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering recognizes graduate students that have excelled in their academic work. This years winners (2016-2017) are listed below.

(Front row from left to right) Brandon Robinson, Philippe Bisaillon, Rahil Bhavsar, Melanie Fillingham, Tella Irani Shemirani, Naga Kanteti, Elham Nakhostin (Back row) Professor Paul Van Geel, Premnath Selvarajah, Burak Oztane, Cameron Macdonell, Rimple Sandhu, Robert McDonald, Jordan Smyth, Nick Zrinyi, Professor Jag Humar, Professor Onita Basu and President Roseann Runte. Missing from the photo are Brooke Jones, Hailey Quiquero, Matthew Smith, Nabeel Khan, Sean Miller, Tahmina Sultana, Tarundeep Singh, Sara Gilani, and Courtney Berquist.

The annual JA lecture celebrates the standard of excellence exemplified by Professor Adjeleian. Lectures in the series highlight the outstanding achievements in professional practice, education and research that have advanced the field of civil engineering.