Board of Governors Chair’s Report 2021/2022

Time to Fly Ravens

COVID-19 has inevitably changed the way we live, work, and learn, but it’s also taught us that even in the face of adversity, there’s still room to thrive. Throughout the past year, the Board has kept appraised of pandemic-related matters affecting the university, pivoting to resume on-campus activities while keeping a watchful eye on 2021/2022 budgets. Through committee work, the Board has monitored the progress of Carleton’s capital projects and deferred maintenance including breaking ground on a new 456-bed student residence in Spring 2022.

While it has not been the year of return we expected, it has been one of growth. Focus on areas such as sustainability and student wellness have offered opportunities for improvement, resulting in updates to our Responsible Investment Policies and the Student Mental Health Framework 3.0. As an institution that endeavors to demonstrate awareness, empathy, and action these measures ensure existing and future generations of students, faculty, and staff continue to benefit from the full Carleton experience.

As another academic year ends, I would like to extend my appreciation to the Carleton community. Your perseverance and determination are what make us champions, but it is your commitment to excellence that makes us strong.

With the prospect of normalcy on the horizon, let us look ahead with resolute enthusiasm, confident in our ability to soar above any challenge that lies ahead.


Dan Fortin
Chair, Carleton University Board of Governors