Carleton University Founders Award

Carleton University was established in 1942, because of the dedication and commitment of our founders—a small group of Ottawa citizens, led by Dr. Henry Marshall Tory, who dared to imagine a university in the nation’s capital that would serve Canadians whose education was interrupted by World War II.

“It is people, not buildings, that make an institution; and if we can put our hearts to it we can do something worthwhile.”

Henry Marshall Tory, June 18, 1942

It is our individual founders – past, present and future – whose commitment has helped build one of Canada’s most respected universities and whose leadership will ascertain our future.

The Founders Award, Carleton’s highest non-academic honour, was inaugurated in June 1996 to recognize and pay tribute to those individuals who have made significant contributions to the advancement of Carleton through their dedication, generosity and commitment to the values of the university. It is awarded annually, when merited, at Spring Convocation.

Click here to view past recipients.


Do you know of someone who deserves recognition for their hard work? Make a nomination today!

Deadline for receipt of nominations is March 24, 2023

  • Part 2: Nominator's Information

  • Privacy Information

    Personal information collected through this form will be used and disclosed by Carleton University under the authority of the Carleton University Act, 1952, and in accordance with sections 39, 41 and 42 of Ontario’s Freedom of Information and Protection of Privacy Act. The purpose of this processing is to administer the application process for the Carleton University Founders Award. If you have any questions about the processing of personal information by Carleton University, please contact the Manager, Privacy & Access to Information, by phone at 613-520-2600 ext. 2047 or by e-mail via

Additional supporting documentation may be sent to:
Carleton University Founders Award Committee
c/o Department of the University Secretariat
Carleton University
607 Robertson Hall
1125 Colonel By Drive
Ottawa, ON K1S 5B6 Canada


For more information regarding the award or the application process, please contact Amanda Goth, University Secretary at or 613-520-2600 ext. 2386.