Photo of Patrick Dion

Patrick Dion


Patrick Dion is a leading government relations professional, recognized for helping clients solve strategic issues and enhancing their reputation and brand with federal, provincial and municipal governments. His expertise, enhanced by his strong belief that business and volunteerism are indivisible, has earned him the trust of Canada’s most respected business leaders.

Patrick was appointed as Ontario’s representative as an inaugural director of the board of the Mental Health Commission of Canada, serving for five years as board vice-chair, and chaired the Human Resources Committee, Audit and Finance Committee, Investment Committee, and Governance and Nominating Committee.

Patrick has become a recognized voice for mental health and wellness, frequently invited to speak on the reform of Canada’s mental health system. He was awarded the Queen’s Diamond Jubilee for his leadership, received The Royal Ottawa Leader in Mental Health Award and was invested into the Order of Ottawa.

Patrick was recruited by Ontario’s Minister of Health to serve on the advisory group guiding the Government of Ontario’s review of its mental health and addictions system and has chaired the Champlain LHIN’s Mental Health and Addictions Advisory Committee on Improving Consumer Flow.  Mr. Dion is chair of the board of Eastern Ontario Regional Laboratory Association, and a director of the board of the Canadian Film Institute.

Patrick’s journey to being recognized as a well-respected and active member of Ottawa’s business community led to him receiving the Ottawa Business Journal’s Forty Under 40 Award, its annual list of top young business leaders in Ottawa.

Patrick graduated from the University of Western Ontario with a degree in Electrical Engineering Science. He also completed the Directors Education Program (DEP) at University of Toronto’s Rotman School of Management.

Patrick is a father of two children and lives in Ottawa with his wife Raylene Lang-Dion.

Patrick has been elected to the Board of Governors for a three-year term commencing July 1, 2019 and ending June 30, 2022.


  • Advancement & University Relations Committee (Chair)
  • Executive

Board Members