Indigenous Student Awards

In addition to the awards listed below, students who have self-identified as Indigenous (First Nation, Inuit or Mètis) remain eligible to be considered for Carleton University’s Undergraduate Bursaries, Scholarships and various federal and provincial student loan programs.

Please Note: Many of the scholarships and bursaries listed below require a separate application.

1. Indigenous Student Bursary

The Ministry has allocated funding to Carleton University to create the Indigenous Student Bursary as part of the Ministry’s Indigenous post-secondary education funding approach.This bursary provides direct support to Indigenous students with financial need to improve access to postsecondary education. Indigenous peoples include First Nations, Inuit and Mètis.

  • Please note, there are a limited number of these bursaries available.
  • To be considered, students may complete the Indigenous Student Bursary Application through the Undergraduate Online Application Forms system on Carleton Central. If you believe that you may meet the eligibility requirements to be considered for this bursary, but have not been presented with the Indigenous Student Bursary application via Carleton Central, please contact the Awards Office. The deadline to complete and submit your application is Oct. 31. To be considered, students must be attending first entry programs of study and must meet OSAP’s Ontario Residency requirements.

2. The Métis Nation of Ontario Bursary

Established by The Métis Nation of Ontario through the Métis Training Initiatives, this bursary is awarded on the basis of financial need to Métis students registered in any year, in any faculty or school at Carleton University.


  • Recipients will have demonstrated financial need, must be Canadian Citizens or permanent residents of Canada (landed immigrant or a protected person) and must meet OSAP’s Ontario Residency requirements.
  • The Métis Nation of Ontario Bursary requires students to complete a separate application. Selection for these awards will be made in consultation with the Métis Nation of Ontario.
  • The application for 2020-2021 is now closed. Deadline to apply was Nov. 15.

3. New Sun, New Beginning Bursary

Awarded annually to part-time and full-time undergraduate students who have demonstrated a commitment to furthering their education and who are in financial need. Preference will be given to First Nation, Inuit, and Mètis students with the Centre for Initiatives in Education’s Enriched Support Program, and First Nation, Inuit, and Mètis students in other programs of study at Carleton University.  Endowed in 1997 by Mrs. Joy Maclaren, who was given the name “New Sun” at an Indigenous Peoples’ naming ceremony. Mrs. Maclaren, a former member of the University’s Board of Governors, established the award in recognition of Carleton’s role in providing accessible education.

4. Richard M. Zubrycki Bursary

Awarded annually to a deserving undergraduate student proceeding from Second to Third year in the Department of Law, Institute of Criminology and Criminal Justice, or School of Social Work. Recipient will have demonstrated financial need, be a Canadian citizen or permanent resident of Canada (landed immigrant or protected person) and must meet OSAP’s Ontario residency requirements. Preference will be given to Indigenous students. Endowed in 2005 by Shirley Zubrycki, friends and colleagues, in memory of Mr. Richard Zubrycki.

5. Gordon Robertson National Inuit Scholarship

Gordon Robertson, the former Chancellor and Chancellor Emeritus of Carleton University, established this scholarship to encourage and promote higher rates of postsecondary completion for Inuit students. This scholarship is awarded annually to one or two full-time Inuit students either entering or continuing a program of study at Carleton University.

  • The application for 2020-2021 is now closed. Deadline to apply was Nov. 15.

6. Wilfred Peltier Memorial Scholarship in English

Awarded annually on the recommendation of the Chair of the Department of English Language and Literature, to an undergraduate, or graduate student whose area of interest is Indigenous Literature. This award was established in 2001 by family, friends, and colleagues of Wilfred Peltier, Odawa pipecarrier, who passed away in July 2000.  Associated some 20 years with Carleton University, Peltier served as an Elder-in-Residence in the Department of Sociology/Anthropology as well as adviser to the Centre for Aboriginal Education, Research and Culture.

  • No application is required for this scholarship. At the end of each academic year, the English department will nominate or recommend outstanding students as potential recipients.

7. External Indigenous Student Awards

Indigenous students may also be eligible for various awards from organizations and associations outside of Carleton University. There are a wide variety of external scholarships and bursaries available for First Nations, Inuit and Métis students. The Centre for Indigenous Initiatives recommends the following;

For more information or support in completing these award applications, please visit the Centre for Indigenous Initiatives.