The Northern Studies program is an initiative of several academic units on campus. For an initial term of four years it is housed in the Department of Geography and Environmental Studies (DGES). The faculty and staff associated with the program are from six units.

The Program Supervisor is Dr. Derek Mueller and the Program Administrator is Davina Joseph. The Chair of DGES is Professor Scott Mitchell. The Administrator of DGES is Natalie Pressburger. The program is overseen by an Executive Committee and a faculty board. The Executive Committee deals with admissions, student progress, course instructors, and matters that arise between meetings of the Board.

Members of the Northern Studies Faculty are: