External Teaching Awards

  • Anne Trepanier and Sarah Todd

    Profs. Anne Trépanier and Sarah Todd

    Anne Trépanier (Indigenous and Canadian Studies) is one of only five winners around the world of a 2019 D2L Innovation Award in Teaching and Learning. The award recognizes educators who are redefining the learning experience through innovative, student-centred practices.

  • Sarah Todd (Social Work) was named one of only 10 recipients of the 2019 3M National Teaching Fellowship, the most prestigious recognition of excellence in post-secondary teaching and educational leadership in Canada.

Achievement Awards

Group of Achievement Award Recipients

Achievement Awards were presented by Provost and Vice-President (Academic) Jerry Tomberlin and Vice-President (Research and International) Rafik Goubran at a ceremony in April 2018.

The following awards are administered by the Office of the Provost and Vice-President (Academic) and recognize outstanding teaching achievements. Congratulations to the following recipients of the 2019 Achievement Awards.

Teaching Achievement Award

The Teaching Achievement Awards are intended to enhance the teaching of their recipients and the quality of instruction at Carleton.

  • Jeff Dawson, Biology and Andy Adler, Systems and Computer Engineering
  • Cheryl Harasymchuk, Psychology
  • Kahente Horn-Miller, Indigenous and Canadian Studies
  • Michael Windover and Peter Coffman, Studies in Art and Culture
  • Benjamin Woo, Journalism and Communication

Professional Achievement Award

The Professional Achievement Awards recognize outstanding professional achievements at Carleton University for professional librarians and instructors.

  • Martha Attridge Bufton, MacOdrum Library
  • Erika Banski, Cataloguing, MacOdrum Library
  • Robert Collier, Computer Science
  • Erica Fraser, History
  • Kim Hellemans, Neuroscience
  • Marylynn Steckley, Arthur Kroeger College of Public Affairs
  • Nigel Waltho, Biology

Contract Instructor Teaching Awards

The Contract Instructor Teaching Awards recognize teaching excellence by Contract Instructors.

  • Robert Helal, Sprott School of Business
  • Gerry Kanter, Industrial Design
  • Tiffany MacLellan, Law and Legal Studies
  • Zahra Montazeri, Mathematics and Statistics
  • Hugh Reid, English Language and Literature

Contract Instructor Teaching Innovation Grant

The purpose of the CITI grant is to provide support to a Contract Instructor for investigating student learning and alternative approaches to teaching and assessing student learning at the individual, departmental, Faculty, or institutional levels. The overall aims are to foster deep student learning at Carleton University and promote curiosity, reflection, and exploration in the areas of teaching and learning.

  • Milica Stojmenovic, Computer Science

Internal Teaching Grants

Discovery Centre Fellowship

This fellowship recognizes a significant contribution to reflective and research-informed teaching. It provides an opportunity for Carleton faculty members to further develop or innovate their teaching and make an impact to the broader academic community. The inaugural recipients of this fellowship are Melanie Adrian (Law and Legal Studies) and Mira Sucharov (Political Science).

Scholarship of Teaching and Learning (SoTL) Grant

This grant provides funding for Carleton’s instructors to engage in scholarly investigations of all aspects of teaching and learning. This year’s recipients are:

  • Mustafa Bahran and Alain Bellerive, Physics
  • Paulo Garcia, Systems and Computer Engineering
  • Samuel McCready, History
  • Sophie Tamas, Geography and Environmental Studies; Indigenous and Canadian Studies
  • Kim Hellemans, Kim Matheson and Hymie Anisman (Neuroscience), Robyn McQuaid (Institute for Mental Health Research, Royal Ottawa Hospital) and Larry McCloskey (Paul Menton Centre for Students with Disabilities)

Two instructors also received funding for teaching development projects in their courses:

  • Shermeen Nizami, Health Sciences
  • Deanna C. Whelan, Psychology

More in this Section

Celebrating our Academic Staff – Appointments
Celebrating our Academic Staff – Tenure, Confirmation and Promotion

Back to the full Annual Report