R.O. MacFarlane Memorial Award

This award is presented annually to an outstanding student registered in a graduate program in the School of Public Administration at Carleton University. Endowed in 1971 by relatives, friends and graduates of Carleton University, the award is named in honour of the late R. Oliver MacFarlane, the first director of the School of Public Administration, 1953-1971. The award recognizes and honours his contributions to the School. His career included appointments in the History Department at the University of Manitoba, military service during the Second World War and an appointment as Deputy Minister of Education for the government of Manitoba. From 1957 to 1959 he served as chair of Manitoba’s Royal Commission on Education. His career was distinguished by leadership and service. We take great pleasure in knowing his legacy can be honoured by celebrating and recognizing the excellence of our current students.

This year’s recipient is MPPA Student Hester Soles.