Our Journey to Excellence

Our journey to excellence began in 2009 with Excellence Canada’s Healthy Workplace certification (a university-wide initiative). Since that time, Carleton University has earned all four levels of certification, including achieving Platinum Level in May 2017.

In recognition of the importance of mental wellness, Carleton began its journey with the Mental Health at Work standard and as of September 2019, we achieved Gold Level certification.

In the Finance and Administration division, the journey to excellence began in 2011 when we pursued the Quality Framework certification with Excellence Canada and received Level 1 in May 2011.

In 2012, Excellence Canada introduced a new certification: Excellence, Innovation and Wellness. Taking a broader scope than the Quality Framework, this certification demonstrated a clear alignment with our needs and desires to take a people-centric focus.  It provides a progressive road map for us to truly become an excellent organization.

In November 2012 we began our pursuit of the Excellence, Innovation and Wellness (EIW) certification. We achieved Bronze Level in June 2014, Silver in July 2015 and in May 2017 we were successful in earning Gold Level.

The Excellence, Innovation, and Wellness Standard

There are four levels of the Excellence, Innovation and Wellness standard: bronze, silver, gold, and platinum.  The standard revolves around six key drivers.  In this way, Excellence Canada provides not only a definition of what constitutes an ‘excellent’ organization, but a staged ‘road map’ that identifies what we need to have in place before moving onto the next stage. The six drivers are:

  1. Strategy and Planning
  2. Process and Project Management 
  3. Customer Experience
  4. Partners and Suppliers
  5. People Engagement
  6. Leadership and Governance

These drivers form a formal, comprehensive approach to continuous improvement.  And the good news is that we have strengths in ALL of these drivers today.

Your Organizational Excellence Support Team

The Excellence Co-ordinator is Cindy Taylor.