The Centre for European Studies (CES) is an interdisciplinary unit with the mandate to further research, teaching, and public outreach activities in the area of European Studies at Carleton University and in the Ottawa area. CES was established in October 2000; it was designated a Carleton University Research Centre (CURC) in 2006.

CES has been co-funded by multiple grants from European and Canadian funding sources. Between 2006 and 2016, CES was supported by the European Union under its EU Centres of Excellence (EUCE) program; CES also served as Network Coordinator for the Canadian Network of EU Centres of Excellence. In 2016, following a revision in the EU’s funding system, CES became a Jean Monnet EU Centre of Excellence.

Since 2008, CES also hosts the Canada-Europe Transatlantic Dialogue (CETD), an international network that brings together scholars and partner organizations to promote research on relations between, and policy challenges of common concern to, Europe and Canada. CETD is funded by the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council of Canada (SSHRC) as a Strategic Knowledge Cluster.

CES is housed jointly in the Institute of European, Russian, and Eurasian Studies (EURUS) and the Department of Political Science at Carleton University. The Centre also aims to support cooperative activities in the area of European Studies with other universities, especially the University of Ottawa.