The Board met in person on June 7, 2023. Minutes from the meeting will be posted on the Board of Governors website once available. The following are the highlights from the meeting:

Dr. L. Pauline Rankin appointed as Provost and Vice-President (Academic)

Dr. L. Pauline Rankin has been appointed Provost and Vice-President (Academic) for a five-year term effective August 14, 2023, succeeding Jerry Tomberlin, who has been in the role since 2017. Read the full announcement here.

Pauline is an experienced strategic leader with a deep knowledge of Carleton and a remarkable track record of enhancing the university’s academic mission. Since taking on the role of Dean of FASS in 2018, Pauline has implemented several new programs, recorded significant growth in external research funding, and adopted collaborative initiatives to strengthen FASS’ commitment to conciliation and EDI.

Student Mental Health Framework Progress Report

The Board received a presentation on the successful implementation of Carleton’s Student Mental Health Framework 2022-2026 (SMHF) for 22/23.

Guided by Carleton’s strategic commitment to “Strive for Wellness,” the SMHF aims to enhance student well-being through a holistic, campus-wide approach, focusing on the four pillars of Student engagement; building skills and strengthening resilience; coordinated student support and services; and campus culture of wellness.

Highlights of the Annual Report include a summary of the definitive actions taken on 26 of the 30 SMFH recommendations and continued rollout plans for the upcoming near-to-mid term. Read the full report.

Equity Diversity and Inclusion – Phase One Progress Report

The Board received a presentation from the Associate Vice-President, Equity and Inclusive Communities, Noël Badiou, on the Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion (EDI) Action Plan – Phase One.

Read the report for highlights on Carleton’s collective actions to increase its commitment to EDI and the progress made in fulfilling the ten Strategic Actions of the plan.

Strategic Integrated Plan Progress

The Board received a progress update on the university’s Strategic Integrated Plan 2020-2025. Notwithstanding a challenging fiscal environment and a worldwide pandemic, significant advancement continues across all three strategic directions: Share Knowledge, Shape the Future; Serve Ottawa, Serve the World; and Strive for Wellness, Strive for Sustainability.

With two years remaining, Carleton looks forward to building on our remarkable success in student achievement, research, pedagogy, Indigenous initiatives, sustainability and, equity, diversity, and inclusion. Read the full report.

23/24 Incoming Governors

The Carleton Board of Governors welcomed nine new members. Visit their profiles to learn more:

Board of Governors Chair’s Report

Board Chair Greg Farrell reflects on the successes and challenges of the past year in the 2022/23 Chair’s Annual Report, now available. Read the report for a look back at the highlights and for a snapshot of what’s next.

Governor Spotlight: Laura Newton Miller, Faculty

Laura is the Head of Collections & Assessment at Carleton Library. She has worked at the Library for almost 20 years, working both in service (almost 10 years as Science & Engineering Reference Librarian) and “behind the scenes” (assessment, strategy, collections). She has played a lead role in developing Carleton Library’s current strategic plan and was a member of Carleton’s Strategic Integrated Planning Committee to determine higher-level goals for the university.

Laura is a strong advocate for evidence-based library and information practice (EBLIP) through conferences, writing, and peer review. She holds a Master of Library and Information Science (MLIS) from Western University, a Master of Education (MEd) in Adult Education from Mount Saint Vincent University, and a Bachelor of Science (BSc) in Psychology from Acadia University. Laura joined the Board of Governors in 2022 and will serve a three-year term ending on June 30, 2025. Learn more about Laura.


Greg Farrell
Chair, Carleton University Board of Governors