Award of the Embassy of France
For excellence in the study of French, two book awards are offered annually by the Embassy of France in Canada. Donor: Embassy of France. Established 1978.

Award of the Ambassador of Switzerland to Canada
For excellence in the study of French, German, and Italian, book awards are offered annually by the Ambassador of Switzerland to Canada. Established 1953.

Colette Osborne Scholarship
Awarded annually to an outstanding student proceeding from second to third-year of a Bachelor degree majoring in French. Endowed in 2017 by John Osborne, Dean of the Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences from 2005 to 2015, in loving memory of his wife, Colette Osborne BA/74 who taught in the Department of French.

Renato Galliani Scholarship in French
Awarded annually to outstanding undergraduate students entering or proceeding from one year to another who are pursuing a Bachelor of Arts in French, or a Bachelor of Global and International Studies in French and Francophone Studies. Endowed in 2019 through the Estate of Renato Galliani.

Bill Fraser Memorial Bursary
Awarded annually to a deserving student entering or enrolled in a French program who is in need of financial assistance in order to attend or continue studies at Carleton University. Donors: Colleagues and friends in memory of Bill Fraser who was a faculty member within the Department of French from 1966 to 1995. Endowed 1995.

Bourse d’échange du Département de français
Awarded annually to students in the B.A. or B.A. Honours program who have applied to go on exchange through the International Students Services Office.

Bursaries for Postsecondary Studies in French as a Second Language
A yearly bursary program created in 2019 by the Department of Canadian Heritage and administered by the Association des collèges et universités de la francophonie canadienne (ACUFC) to encourage English-speaking students to pursue their studies in French. Awarded annually to two students entering the BA or BA Honours French program.

Travel Bursary for French Studies
Awarded annually, to an undergraduate or graduate student in good academic standing who is enrolled in a French program. The purpose of this bursary is to assist in defraying the costs of student conference or research-related travel. Endowed in 2011 by Dr. Roseann O’Reilly Runte who served as President and Vice-Chancellor at Carleton from 2008 to 2017 and taught in the Department of French.

Eldon Kaye Memorial Scholarship
Awarded annually, on the recommendation of the Chair of the Department of French, to an undergraduate or graduate student in the French program who has demonstrated the most promise in French literature. Endowed in 1989 in memory of Eldon Kaye who was a professor in the Department of French.