Charlotte Gray

Photo credit Valberg Imaging

The History Department would like to congratulate Adjunct Research Professor Charlotte Gray for being named one of the finalists in this year’s non-fiction category of the 2020 Ottawa Book Awards. A short excerpt can be found below with the full article, “Finalists announced for 2020 Ottawa Book Awards” by Lynn Saxberg of the Ottawa Citizen available online.

The 15 finalists in the 2020 Ottawa Book Awards have been announced, recognizing the top English- and French-language books published in the last year.

Non-fiction finalists are Mark Bourrie (Bush Runner: The Adventures of Pierre-Esprit RadissonBiblioasis), past winner Charlotte Gray (Murdered Midas: A Millionaire, His Gold Mine, and a Strange Death on an Island Paradise), Amanda Jetté Knox (Love Lives Here: A Story of Thriving in a Transgender Family), Canada’s first female chief justiceBeverley McLachlin (Truth Be Told: My Journey Through Life and the Law) and Graeme Truelove (Un-Canadian: Islamophobia in the True North).

Winners of each category will be revealed during a virtual awards ceremony at 6 p.m. Oct. 21, hosted by the Ottawa Public Library. Winners receive $7,500, while $1,000 goes to each finalist. To receive a link to the event invitation, contact

More information on Charlotte Gray can be found in the article “Meet the finalists for the 2020 Ottawa Book Awards” in Apartment 613.