Department of History

As of August 23, 2021, the Department of History will be open from Monday – Friday, 8:30am -12:00pm & 1:00-4:30pm, closed for lunch, 12:00 – 1:00pm. 

At this time, administrative staff will only deal with general walk-in inquiries. All appointments will continue to be held virtually.  There will be no person-to-person appointments available. The best way to request timely advice or to make an appointment is to contact us at the following email addresses. 

  • For any Undergraduate support, please contact Tanya Schwartz, Undergraduate Administrator, at tanya.schwartz@carleton.ca.  
  • For any Graduate support, please contact Joan White, Graduate Administrator, at joan.white@carleton.ca. 
  • If you wish to contact the Chair, please do so at james.miller@carleton.ca 
  • For general inquiries please contact history@carleton.ca 
  • For any inquiries or support regarding the Latin American and Caribbean Studies (LACS) office, please contact Xiaohan Xu, LACS Program Administrator, at lacs@carleton.ca. 

Thank you for your co-operation and understanding as we navigate through this gradual return to campus.

 

Carleton University
400 Paterson Hall
1125 Colonel By Drive
Ottawa, ON
K1S 5B6
Canada
Phone: (613) 520-2828
Office Hours:
8:30 am -12:00 pm
1:00 pm – 4:30 pm
James Miller
Chair

Office: 403 Paterson Hall
Phone: 613-520-2600 ext 8032
james.miller@carleton.ca 
Darlene Moss
Departmental Administrator
Office: 401 Paterson Hall
Phone: 613-520-2600 ext. 2847
darlene.moss@carleton.ca
Paul Nelles
Graduate Supervisor
Office: 424 Paterson Hall
Phone: 613-520-2600 ext.2823
paul.nelles@carleton.ca
Joan White
Graduate Administrator

Office: 430 Paterson Hall
Phone: 613-520-2600 ext. 2834
grad.history@carleton.ca
Susan Whitney
Undergraduate Supervisor
Office: 420 Paterson Hall
Phone: 613-520-2828
history@carleton.ca 
Tanya Schwartz
Undergraduate Administrator
Office: 402 Paterson Hall
Phone: 613-520-2828
history@carleton.ca