Sociology Faculty and Their Research Interests

Who Can Supervise My Thesis?

Name Interests Email
Nahla Abdo* Settler colonialism and indigenous studies, gendered colonialism and Middle Eastern women, oral history and critical feminist research methods, orientalism and imperialism nahla.abdo@carleton.ca
Xiaobei Chen* The child citizen, governance, racism, culturalism, colonialism, migration xiaobei.chen@carleton.ca
Deborah Conners Community engagement, social justice, politics and reconciliation of gender issues, feminism, men’s organizations, sociology of knowledge, racialization and racism deborah.conners@carleton.ca
Tonya Davidson Urban spaces, public memory, nostalgia, popular culture, and Canadian identity tonya.davidson@carleton.ca
Darryl Davies Police oversight and accountability, police militarization, risk focused and evidence-based crime prevention, criminal justice policy and sentencing, corrections darryl.davies@carleton.ca
Aaron Doyle* Critical and public criminology, risk, insurance, and security, surveillance, crime and media aaron.doyle@carleton.ca
William Flynn Historical and contemporary forms of travel and tourism, tourist guidebooks, and how identities are formed under liminal and unusual circumstances william.flynn3@carleton.ca
Kelly Fritsch** Disability studies, sociology of health, illness, and medicine, feminist science and technology studies, political economy, social and political theory, social movements kelly.fritsch@carleton.ca
Neil Gerlach* Apocalypse culture, sociology of war, biotechnology and social control neil.gerlach@carleton.ca
Katharine Kelly* Homicide, gendered violence, youth crime, youth gangs katharine.kelly@carleton.ca
Jacqueline Kennelly* Youth cultures, urban sociology, social movements, citizenship, phenomenology, qualitative methods, homelessness, Olympics jacqueline.kennelly@carleton.ca
Zhiqiu Lin* Theories of crime, crime trends, legal reforms in China, Chinese society, law and society, quantitative research methods zhiqiu.lin@carleton.ca
Azar Masoumi** Politics of state-controlled refugee protection, gender-based and queer refugees, sex and sovereignty, limitations of feminist legal change, race and neoliberalism, and state multiculturalism azar.masoumi@carleton.ca
Amina Mire* Women and health, anti-ageing, globalization of whiteness, gender and the sociology of science and technology amina.mire@carleton.ca
Michael Mopas* Sound studies, science, technology and law, cultural studies, criminology and sociolegal studies, food studies michael.mopas@carleton.ca
Carlos Novas* Biopolitics, governmentality, science and technology studies, biological citizenship, biosociality carlos.novas@carleton.ca
Augustine Park* Transitional justice, race/racism/racialisation, children/childhoods, international intervention, political violence augustine.park@carleton.ca
Justin Paulson* Political economy, social movements, settler colonialism, Marxist theory, aesthetics and politics justin.paulson@carleton.ca
George Pollard* Mathematical sociology, quantitative methods, sociology of entertainment, media sociology, social psychology george.pollard@carleton.ca
Steven Prus* Gerontology, social epidemiology, quantitative methods steven.prus@carleton.ca
Alexis Shotwell* Politics of health, critical disability studies, feminist theory, race and racialization alexis.shotwell@carleton.ca
Daiva Stasiulis* Citizenship studies, global migration, multiple citizenship and transnationalism, state discourses and practices of multiculturalism, immigration and anti-racist policies,feminist intersectionality and social inequality, critical race studies, sociology of emotions daiva.stasiulis@carleton.ca
Rania Tfaily* Social Demography, Inequality in Education, Sociology of the Family, Health Disparities, Quantitative Methods rania.tfaily@carleton.ca
Zoe Todd**
Human-environmental relations, indigenous and comparative political ontologies, gender, resource extraction, colonialism soc-anthro@carleton.ca
Pum van Veldhoven pum.vanveldhoven@carleton.ca
William Walters* Political sociology, borders, migration and mobility, secrecy and security, sociologies of the public, genealogies of politics and government william.walters@carleton.ca
Click here for a list of our Adjunct Professors and Adjunct Research Professors
Sociology Faculty in Other Departments
Patricia Ballamingie* Localizing food systems and sustainable community, community-university partnerships, environmental conflict and deliberative democracy patricia.ballamingie@carleton.ca
Susan Braedley* Political economy of health care and social services work, social reproduction theory and feminist political economy, gender and social policy, disability and ageing, radical social work practice and theory susan.braedley@carleton.ca
Nicolas Carrier* Social systems theory, theoretical criminology, social control, sociology of law and punishment, moralization, biocriminology, drug policies nicolas.carrier@carleton.ca
Patrizia Gentile* Cultural/gender history, history of sexuality, history and theory of the body, beauty contests, national security, October Crisis and immigrant communities, queer theory patrizia.gentile@carleton.ca
Joshua Greenberg* Crisis/risk communication, public relations, media and disasters, public health, and political communication joshua.greenberg@carleton.ca
Jennifer Henderson* Canadian literature, cultural studies in and of Canada, settler colonialism, gender studies jennifer.henderson@carleton.ca
Lara Karaian* Legal regulation and construction of sex, gender and sexuality, feminist, critical race, queer and transgender legal theory, critical criminology, cultural criminology, and porn studies lara.karaian@carleton.ca
Alexander McClelland** Critical criminology and critical social science, surveillance studies and medico-legal surveillance, confidentiality, privacy, and data protection alexander.mcclelland@carleton.ca
Maeve McMahon* Criminal justice in the Baltic States maeve.mcmahon@carleton.ca
Daniel McNeil* Africana studies, black Atlantic studies, critical mixed race studies, cultural criticism and theory, decolonial studies, diaspora studies, immigration, multiculturalism and “race relations,” Indigenous and Canadian studies, media and cultural studies daniel.mcneil@carleton.ca
Jeffrey Monaghan* Security governance, policing, surveillance of social movements, settler colonial studies, social movements studies, globalization of surveillance and security practices jeffrey.monaghan@carleton.ca
Dawn Moore* The role of photographic evidence, feminism, queer theory, Actor-Network Theory and cultural studies, the constitution of criminalized subjectivities, political and public engagement, prisoners experience of imprisonment dawn.moore@carleton.ca
Allan Moscovitch* History of the Welfare State in Canada, social administration, particularly the administration of social assistance, Federal/Provincial relations and social welfare, Aboriginal peoples and social welfare, poverty allan.moscovitch@carleton.ca
Xuan Thuy Nguyen** Critical disability studies, critical policy studies, inclusive education, critical theory, human rights and post-colonial studies, visual methodologies XuanThuyNguyen@cunet.carleton.ca
George Rigakos* Pacification, anti-security, political economy of public and private policing, increasing role of Business Improvement Areas (BIAs) in local governance and security, nightclubs as spectacles of risk, insecurity and consumption in late capitalism, mutualism, cooperative production george.rigakos@carleton.ca
Megan Rivers-Moore* Intersections of sociology, gender studies, and Latin American and Caribbean studies, how sexuality operates transnationally, gendered affective labour, travel and tourism, race and ethnicity, postcolonial and transnational feminisms, and qualitative methods megan.riversmoore@carleton.ca
Rebecca Schein* Marxist political economy and cultural studies, commodification and decommodification of public goods and services, rights, commons, citizenship, and moral claims, mutual aid and social movement dynamics, social movement or community unionism, and political cultures of solidarity rebecca.schein@carleton.ca
Julia Sinclair-Palm** Queer and trans youth, sexuality education, qualitative research methods, theories of teaching and learning, inclusive practices and policies, community engagement, youth activism julia.sinclairpalm@carleton.ca
Dale Spencer* Criminalization of Marginalized Populations, with a focus on youth and homeless people, violence, victimization dale.spencer@carleton.ca

* May supervise both MA and PhD theses
** May supervise MA theses and co-supervise PhD theses until granted tenure, when will have full supervision status.
*** May co-supervise MA and PhD theses with the permission of FGPA

Supervision status is granted based on rank. If you have questions about supervisory status, please consult the Graduate Administrator. The following legend is meant as an indication only. Please make sure to consult with the faculty you’re interested in working with. This table indicates which types of professors, instructors, and adjunct faculty are eligible to serve as Supervisors, Co-Supervisors, and Committee members for M.A. and Ph.D. student theses.